Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 07-04-2019, 03:49 AM   #1
Wyldfire

Default Help with a magic weapon

Hi Peoples,

I am very new to GURPS and was wondering if people might make some suggestions on a magic weapon idea I had for a character.

Basically, I am after something to help the casters in the group, I was thinking something that weakens an opponents defence against magic when I hit them with it. It's probably not a very cost-effective idea but it was something I was keen to try and figure out if there was a way to do.

Thanks for any help or advice you can provide.
Wyldfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 03:57 AM   #2
Aldric

Default Re: Help with a magic weapon

There are probably several ways.
What kind of magic system are your mages using?

Afflicting magic susceptibility with each strike is the first thing that comes to mind..
Aldric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 07:06 AM   #3
maximara
On Notice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyldfire View Post
Hi Peoples,

I am very new to GURPS and was wondering if people might make some suggestions on a magic weapon idea I had for a character.

Basically, I am after something to help the casters in the group, I was thinking something that weakens an opponents defence against magic when I hit them with it. It's probably not a very cost-effective idea but it was something I was keen to try and figure out if there was a way to do.

Thanks for any help or advice you can provide.
Well high skill will do this as will an item that grants a higher skill only to spells can can be resisted. Note that missile spells require a good throwing skill to hit a target and, unless surprised, the target will get a defense roll.
maximara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 07:36 AM   #4
jason taylor