Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Old 12-27-2020, 08:46 PM   #1
Retreater

Default Complete Newbie Questions about Melee

After owning the big box for many months, and being completely overwhelmed by the contents, I finally tried a few sample battles with Melee tonight. I found that the heavily armored characters always won. The penalties to Dex and movement did not balance against the small amount of damage that could be inflicted. The battle arena wasn't really large enough to move away from the stoutly armored warrior with a ranged warrior. I think I could take one shot before battle ensued.
There must be something I'm missing. Otherwise the armored character would be the only option.
Retreater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2020, 09:50 PM   #2
Shostak

Default Re: Complete Newbie Questions about Melee

Welcome!

Armor definitely has its advantages. There are ways to overcome its benefits, though. Pole weapons can be very effective against heavily armored foes. A spearman with little or no armor might be able to consistently attack first and can use the disengage option to force charge-attack situations that give damage bonuses.

A figure armed with broadsword or war axe (both 2d damage) and shield could shield rush to get the heavily armored foe on the ground for a +4DX attack. If you are using the optional aimed shots rules from In the Labyrinth, the DX bonus could be used to offset the penalty for a head shot.

If a shield is part of the heavily-armored foe's protection, outflanking to get past the shield is useful. Exploit initiative, facing, and engagement ruthlessly.