Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 04-29-2005, 08:17 AM   #1
Wundt

Default How balanced is GURPS?

I have been playing 4ed for a few months and have been considering trying GURPS as a GM. However, I really don't have a good sense of how balanced GURPS is in terms of combat opponents. I know from experience what and how many opponents to throw at a party when I GM other games (you cannot rely on CR in DnD, its pretty variable), but I don't have that sense for GURPS.
  • In GURPS, if I put a 100pt monster/opponent up against a 100pt character, will it be a fair fight?
  • How likely is a 100 point character going to beat a 50pt monster/opponent? 75pt? 90pt? (all other things being equal).
  • What sort of point differential between the characters and their opponents is best to walk that line between challenging and sure death?
  • Do multiple opponents add linearly? E.g. will a 100pt character defeat three 30pt monsters?

I know that there are other factors that come into play, for example, monsters and opponents can be 'designed' just for combat or to capitalize on characters' weaknesses. Assume the monsters/opponents are 'rounded', with non-combat skills, advantages, and disadvantages.

Last edited by Wundt; 04-29-2005 at 08:27 AM.
Wundt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 08:35 AM   #2
copeab

Default Re: How balanced is GURPS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wundt
I have been playing 4ed for a few months and have been considering trying GURPS as a GM. However, I really don't have a good sense of how balanced GURPS is in terms of combat opponents. I know from experience what and how many opponents to throw at a party when I GM other games (you cannot rely on CR in DnD, its pretty variable), but I don't have that sense for GURPS.