Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2019, 09:46 PM   #1
Bestial Warlust
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Default failed casting roll ST cost

I've been giving the rules a read again and I'm not seeing ST loss for a failed casting. I know if you roll a 16 you lose full stamina but I thought I remember reading that a failure otherwise means you only lose 1 ST is that correct or am I mis remembering?

****I found what I missed it was in the text of creation and thrown spells.

Last edited by Bestial Warlust; 12-08-2019 at 10:38 PM.
Bestial Warlust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 01:34 AM   #2
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: failed casting roll ST cost

Yeah, it's 1 for most spells, with some exceptions, mainly the ones that do something even when you fail the casting, such as missile spells, or "detection" spells since the GM makes the roll and failure means you get inaccurate information, and only charging you 1 ST for that would give away that the information is inaccurate.
Skarg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 07:38 AM   #3
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: failed casting roll ST cost

Note only on a "break weapon" result would you be charged the full ST cost for a failed spell (missile spells can miss, but never fail to activate). Also note that Staff II+ suffers no ill effect from a break weapon result from an occult strike as per ITL 135, so there is no chance of falling over. Also you can't fall over when attempting a missile spell.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 01:08 PM   #4
Helborn
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Default Re: failed casting roll ST cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
Note only on a "break weapon" result would you be charged the full ST cost for a failed spell (missile spells can miss, but never fail to activate). Also note that Staff II+ suffers no ill effect from a break weapon result from an occult strike as per ITL 135, so there is no chance of falling over. Also you can't fall over when attempting a missile spell.

It's not just a failed occult strike - the Staff is immune to Break Weapon (ITL 23)
__________________
Helborn
Helborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.