Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 09-14-2022, 05:02 AM   #1
briansommers

Default Spaceships hull armor…solid?

Noob here.

I’m I to understand correctly that armor on spaceships is solid and not a layer added to the outside?

So, there’s front, center, rear hull areas each consisting of 6 areas each?

So when I add armor to any of the 18 sections of the hull, I can’t put anything else in there correct?
briansommers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2022, 05:26 AM   #2
weby

Default Re: Spaceships hull armor…solid?

The spaceships system is one that calculates mass not volume.

There are a total of 20 systems.
6 front, 6 center, 6 rear and 2 core systems

If you put in armor that takes one of the 20 slots as armor has significant mass thus each such mass unit takes one of the mass slots and provides the armor value given in the table into that section.

Last edited by weby; 09-14-2022 at 02:30 PM. Reason: bug in the listing of module counts
weby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2022, 06:31 AM   #3
Phantasm

Quote:
Originally Posted by weby View Post
There are a total of 20 systems.
6 front, 6 center, 2 rear and 2 core systems
Pretty sure this is a "changed my thought halfway through"; it's 6 rear, not 2.

But yes, an armor module - like all modules - takes up 5% of the ship's overall mass.

"But mom, I don't wanna go back in the dungeon!"

The GURPS Marvel Universe Reboot Project A-G, H-R, and S-Z, and its not-a-wiki-really web adaptation.
Ranoc, a Muskets-and-Magery Renaissance Fantasy Setting
Phantasm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2022, 06:34 AM   #4
The Colonel

I'm guessing there are no Washington Treaty style shenanigans then with using the ship's bulk water tanks as armour or what have you...
The Colonel is offline   Reply With Quote