Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 11-02-2019, 08:41 PM   #1
awesomenessofme1

Default What are some GURPS rules you didn't know or understand for a long time?

Inspired by a conversation that I just had with a player where I finally understood Improving Skills from Default after over 2 years of actively playing GURPS. I have a lot of character sheets to revise for my setting.

A few months ago, I also found out that death checks aren't modified by -1 per death check threshold passed, only consciousness. I had been entirely convinced it worked that way ever since I started playing.
awesomenessofme1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 08:48 PM   #2
Refplace

Default Re: What are some GURPS rules you didn't know or understand for a long time?

Power Stunts, I kind of understood them but did not really appreciate them until PK made them the centerpiece of GURPS Psionic Powers.

I tend to forget rules and modifiers, especially combat ones but I think I understood them pretty quickly. Its just a lot to remember, especially if you dont use them all the time. I dont think I have ever been in a game that used all the rules and options.
My List of GURPS You Tube videos (plus a few other useful items)
My GURPS Wiki entries
Refplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 09:00 PM   #3
evileeyore
Banned

Default Re: What are some GURPS rules you didn't know or understand for a long time?

I forget rules all the time, there are so many of them after all...
evileeyore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 10:37 PM   #4
whswhs

It took me several campaigns to figure out the use of range modifiers for missile weapons.

I don't think we're in Oz any more.
whswhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 04:29 AM   #5
johndallman
Night Watchman