Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2012, 10:42 PM   #1
backstabby
 
backstabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Can an Elf win by helping someone?

So, I was playing Munchkin with my friends, one of whom who was at level 9 and losing the combat with a lethal, humungous, drooling slime and it's mate. He used a card (I can't remember what one) that forced me, a level 9 elf who was loaded with cheat cards and extra hands, to help him. We killed it and of course there was arguing over whether or not I went up a level and tied the game. He says no, because it was the final level and it wasn't my turn. I say yes, because I did still technically kill a monster. Which is it?
backstabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:45 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Can an Elf win by helping someone?

The level the Elf gains for helping in combat can be the winning level, because it's a level gained as the result of winning a fight.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor || New Munchkin player? Check out our Munchkin 101 forum!
#PlayMunchkin to get our attention on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Forum issues? Visit Forum Feedback and Help or email forums@sjames.com
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 01:38 AM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Can an Elf win by helping someone?

It should be noted that most cards and abilities that force someone to help (such as the Kneepads of Allure or the Bard's Enthrall) can't be used if the winning level is at stake, but if the card or method he used didn't mention this, then it was legal for him to use it and you both won equally.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:47 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Can an Elf win by helping someone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
It should be noted that most cards and abilities that force someone to help (such as the Kneepads of Allure or the Bard's Enthrall) can't be used if the winning level is at stake, but if the card or method he used didn't mention this, then it was legal for him to use it and you both won equally.
It's possible they're using the older version of some cards, too; the 2010 reboot added the "cannot be used to win" text to some cards that didn't have it before.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor || New Munchkin player? Check out our Munchkin 101 forum!
#PlayMunchkin to get our attention on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Forum issues? Visit Forum Feedback and Help or email forums@sjames.com
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 02:00 PM   #5
backstabby
 
backstabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Re: Can an Elf win by helping someone?

Thank you for the clarification!
backstabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
elf, helping, munchkin, winning level

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.