Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2012, 07:51 AM   #11
pinchus
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Re: rule clarification

that kinda sucks :(

unless of course you do this to someone else...

thanks a ton
pinchus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:30 AM   #12
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: rule clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinchus View Post
saying that if you have 5 or more you MUST give charity, implying that if you have 5 you CAN give charity if you want to
I didn't said "MUST", I said you only CAN give Charity if you have more than 5 cards in your hand...
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:38 AM   #13
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: rule clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enzzo View Post
Actually, you can still play the new Big item, and then you have to choose a Big item to get rid of.
Because this got a little lost in the confusion: this is not correct. Under normal circumstances (not a Dwarf, not using Cheat!, etc.), you cannot play a second Big item if you already have one in play.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor || New Munchkin player? Check out our Munchkin 101 forum!
#PlayMunchkin to get our attention on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Forum issues? Visit Forum Feedback and Help or email forums@sjames.com
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:24 AM   #14
Enzzo
 
Enzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Default Re: rule clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Because this got a little lost in the confusion: this is not correct. Under normal circumstances (not a Dwarf, not using Cheat!, etc.), you cannot play a second Big item if you already have one in play.
Oops! My mistake. I misunderstood. Thanks for clarifying :)
Enzzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:36 AM   #15
tremorlaine
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Re: rule clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Ed View Post
You have to deal with the excess immediately. Unfortunately, during combat there are not a lot of legal options other than giving them away/discarding them. You could play another Dwarf card if you had one (assuming it was your turn, or you had somehow just recieved it if it wasn't your turn) to allow you to keep the extra items. But you can't sell during combat, you can't play a hireling during combat (there's a lot of stuff you can't do during combat) and you can't wait until combat is over to deal with the situation.
I didn't think you could give away items during combat either. I think the only option for the player who loses dwarf in combat and has multiple big items is to discard them down to one or play another dwarf card.
tremorlaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:47 AM   #16
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: rule clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by tremorlaine View Post
I didn't think you could give away items during combat either. I think the only option for the player who loses dwarf in combat and has multiple big items is to discard them down to one or play another dwarf card.
Andrew can correct me if I'm wrong, but my understanding is that since the rule on Big items explicitly mentions giving them away if you have too many, that would override the usual inability to do that sort of thing during combat.

EDIT: Here's the relevant portion of the rules:

Quote:
If something lets you have more than one Big item (for instance,
the Dwarf race) and you lose that ability, you must either correct
the problem immediately or get rid of all but one Big item. If it’s
your turn and you’re not in combat, you can sell the excess Big items
(as long as you have at least 1,000 Gold Pieces of Items to sell).
Otherwise, you must give them to the lowest-Level player(s)who
can carry them!
The way that is phrased makes it clear (to me anyway) that even if this happens to you while you are in combat, you not only MAY give extras away, but you MUST (unless nobody can carry them- then they get discarded) assuming you have no other legal way of fixing the problem.

Last edited by Mister Ed; 11-29-2012 at 10:52 AM.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:14 AM   #17
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: rule clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Ed View Post
The way that is phrased makes it clear (to me anyway) that even if this happens to you while you are in combat, you not only MAY give extras away, but you MUST (unless nobody can carry them- then they get discarded) assuming you have no other legal way of fixing the problem.
Exactly. It's an exception to the usual rule about not trading during combat.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor || New Munchkin player? Check out our Munchkin 101 forum!
#PlayMunchkin to get our attention on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Forum issues? Visit Forum Feedback and Help or email forums@sjames.com
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:21 AM   #18
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: rule clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinchus View Post
saying that if you have 5 or more you MUST give charity, implying that if you have 5 you CAN give charity if you want to
The rules say more than 5, not 5 or more. You must perform Charity if you have more than 5 cards in your hand. If you don't have more than 5 cards in your hands, or you can play enough cards to get you down to 5 or less, Charity doesn't come in to play, and you have no legal way to just give cards to someone.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 11-30-2012 at 07:45 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 12:07 PM   #19
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: rule clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Ed View Post
You have to deal with the excess immediately. Unfortunately, during combat there are not a lot of legal options other than giving them away/discarding them. You could play another Dwarf card if you had one (assuming it was your turn, or you had somehow just recieved it if it wasn't your turn) to allow you to keep the extra items. But you can't sell during combat, you can't play a hireling during combat (there's a lot of stuff you can't do during combat) and you can't wait until combat is over to deal with the situation.
You actually can play a Hireling during combat. The rules say:
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Need For Steed Rules
You can play a Hireling at any time, even in combat, as long as you have only one Hireling in play at a time.
Even if you only have the Hireling from Munchkin and Munchkin 3 (which don't follow the Hireling rules unless you have a set with the Hireling rules), they are not Items, so they can be played during combat as there is no restriction.

Playing a Hireling from your hand is a perfectly valid way to save one of your extra Big Items if you legally had them somehow and lost that ability.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 11-30-2012 at 01:07 PM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 12:10 PM   #20
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: rule clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
Playing a Hireling from your hand is a perfectly valid way to save one of your extra Big Items if you legally had them somehow and lost that ability.
Snazzy! Though I don't know how often I have a Hireling sitting in my hand when I've got none on the table, so this will probably never come into play for me. ;-)
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
big items, charity

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.