Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2014, 12:10 AM   #1
wintersilke
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Mask of Acheron question

The Mask of Acheron says I can discard a card to add the top monster from the discard pile to the combat. The card doesn't specify which side of the combat it can come in on so we are interpreting it to mean you can either:

1) Add the monster to my turn's combat to fight on my side just like the Gnome ability.
2) Add the monster to another player's combat to fight on the monsters' side like using the Wandering Monster card.

The additional benefit is the owner of the Mask of Acheron can discard a card and have the top monster card enter the fight on another player's side in exchange for something.

Does anyone see anything wrong with these interpretations?
wintersilke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 12:35 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Mask of Acheron question

The Mask of Acheron can add monsters to the monsters' side in combat only; it requires an explicit rule statement to allow monsters to join the munchkin side, which this card does not have.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 12:56 AM   #3
wintersilke
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: Mask of Acheron question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
The Mask of Acheron can add monsters to the monsters' side in combat only; it requires an explicit rule statement to allow monsters to join the munchkin side, which this card does not have.
Where is that rule please? I need to track it down.
wintersilke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 06:52 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Mask of Acheron question

Quote:
Originally Posted by wintersilke View Post
Where is that rule please? I need to track it down.
The game rules talk (at some length) about ways to add monsters to the monster side in a combat. They do not mention ways to add monsters to the munchkin side ANYWHERE. Therefore, it's not allowed (unless you have a card that says so).

If you're playing with rules lawyers who need something official, then let me assure you that I'm giving you an official ruling. In Munchkin, anything that's not specifically allowed is forbidden -- for instance, the rules are clear that you can play unused Items on the table, but don't say anything about other kinds of cards; therefore, you cannot play any other kind of card to the table unless you can actually use it.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 07:41 AM   #5
collinc
 
Join Date: May 2014
Default Re: Mask of Acheron question

Since we're talking about the Mask of Acheron, if the card I discard to invokd the power happens to be a monster, does it become the top discard monster that is then chosen? Or is it the top monster discard at the time you decide to discard?
collinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 07:57 AM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Mask of Acheron question

The latter. You can't discard a monster and then immediately add THAT monster to the fight.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
assistance, combat, discard, headgear, mask of acheron

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.