Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2020, 10:39 AM   #1
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Belt dagger limit

ITL 65: "A limited amount of gear can be carried on the belt, where it is out of the way but can be readied quickly. You may carry up to six items on your belt. No more than two may be “large” (over 2 lbs.)."

Since daggers (or flasks) aren't over 2 lbs you can carry six on the belt, right?

ITL 107: "A character can have two secondary weapons and/or shields slung at his side. Daggers or flasks on the belt are also secondary weapons."

I.e. only two daggers can be worn on the belt.

Which is correct?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 10:45 AM   #2
Shostak
 
Shostak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New England
Default Re: Belt dagger limit

The items slung at the side are slung, not worn on the belt.
Shostak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 10:51 AM   #3
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Belt dagger limit

So you can have six daggers on the belt and two additional daggers slung?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 01:30 PM   #4
tomc
 
tomc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Default Re: Belt dagger limit

I think it's realistic to have 20 or 30 daggers, if they're flat and made to stack compactly in a belt loop or holster. But as a GM, I'd make the character have to deal with the social repercussions of looking like a doofus.
__________________
OgreMap2

Freedom of Speech is not Freedom of Podium
tomc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 02:11 PM   #5
JustAnotherJarhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Default Re: Belt dagger limit

ITL pg. 107 3rd parapgraph , right column:

" A secondary weapon (not Ready, not in the hand) is a weapon slung at the Character's side. It takes one turn to switch from ready weapon to secondary weapon; the secondary weapon then becomes ready and can be used next turn.

A character can have TWO SECONDARY weapons and/or Shields slung at his side. DAGGERS or Flask ON THE BELT are ALSO secondary weapons. "

It's clear to me that you are quite limited as to how many weapons you can have slung or on a belt.
JustAnotherJarhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 02:20 PM   #6
Celjabba
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Default Re: Belt dagger limit

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustAnotherJarhead View Post
ITL pg. 107 3rd parapgraph , right column:

" A secondary weapon (not Ready, not in the hand) is a weapon slung at the Character's side. It takes one turn to switch from ready weapon to secondary weapon; the secondary weapon then becomes ready and can be used next turn.

A character can have TWO SECONDARY weapons and/or Shields slung at his side. DAGGERS or Flask ON THE BELT are ALSO secondary weapons. "

It's clear to me that you are quite limited as to how many weapons you can have slung or on a belt.
My reading would be 2 secondary weapon (any kind) slung on the side, + up to 6 on the belt (only dagger or flask).
Celjabba is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 02:29 PM   #7
JustAnotherJarhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Default Re: Belt dagger limit

DAGGERS or Flask ON THE BELT are ALSO secondary weapons

The reference to a limit of 6 items clearly points to belt pouches, scrolls, and other miscellaeous small items, like a pouch that held 12 throwing stars.

There is a specific point to a Dagger being a "secondary" weapon, to imply only two of these could be made at the ready on the belt. If you have a dagger in a scabbard hanging on the left of your hip , and another on the right, where are these other (4) Four daggers n scabbards going to be mounted at?

I'm envisioning a police belt loaded up with all kinds of gear. I think it was not Steve's intended original idea to suspend 6 daggers from the belt.

Nor 6 flask of oil, or gas bombs etc... or 6 skins of water for that manner.
JustAnotherJarhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 02:36 PM   #8
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Belt dagger limit

I think it's up to a contest of GM discretion versus player ingenuity to determine how many daggers can be carried in what way, and what it takes to ready them. The GM always wins, but may be swayed. However:

* At least two weapons on a belt are clearly allowed.

* Looks to me like you can have 2 weapons slung, plus up to 4 others if they are 2 lbs or less. (But GMs who don't like this may think the limit for weapons that can be readied without difficulty is 2.)

* Other clever places might be allowed in addition to that, if the GM is convinced, but the GM may assign extra difficulty readying them.


(I also notice that GURPS has slightly different guidance on the same subject, including a bit I thought was in TFT, but isn't, which says, "Theoretically, you could have a dozen weapons hanging at your belt or scabbarded about your person. In practice, anybody who carries more than one or two extra weapons (plus a dagger) is usually being unrealistic, or just silly. The GM is the final arbiter.")
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 02:45 PM   #9
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Belt dagger limit

Traditional place to mount a dagger sheath on the belt is the small of the back.

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/352336...H7rB0HLvz27mDJ

Note that is a much much beefier blade than TFT's three ounce wonder.

Combining dagger and belt pouch

http://myarmoury.com/talk/viewtopic.13897.html

It's difficult to find a tactical knife down at three ounces

https://www.rei.com/product/151840/b...ed-blade-knife
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 03:06 PM   #10
JustAnotherJarhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Default Re: Belt dagger limit

lets ALL agree that the 3 oz. reference was a mistake.

as a footnote*
one benefit to not being familiar with GURPS , is I don't have this other set of rules to reference. Just TFT purist... for good or bad.
JustAnotherJarhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.