Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS > GURPS Character Assistant

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2017, 05:14 PM   #1
Engurrand
 
Engurrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wormtooth Nation
Default Strength Based Skill

Can you make a skill based on Strength? How?

Setting the type to ST/VH didn't do it, and neither did editing the Stepfrom value.

I know this isn't RAW GURPS. I'd still like to know if it's possible. :)

Thanks
__________________
"Guys, I think maybe this whole time we've been the villains."
Engurrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 06:01 PM   #2
flyingwombat
 
flyingwombat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alameda, CA
Default Re: Strength Based Skill

I think you have to create a new skilltype.
__________________
Fraser: "Could you elucidate, sir?"
Welsh: "No, no. Not since the late sixties."
Ray: "That's Canadian for explain." --- from "due South" episode Seeing Is Believing
flyingwombat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 06:47 PM   #3
Engurrand
 
Engurrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wormtooth Nation
Default Re: Strength Based Skill

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingwombat View Post
I think you have to create a new skilltype.
That's done it. Thank you.

Added a data file to the queue with:

Code:
[SKILLTYPES]
ST/E, cost(1/2/4/8), base(-1), defaultstat(ST), relname(ST)
ST/A, cost(1/2/4/8), base(-2), defaultstat(ST), relname(ST)
ST/H, cost(1/2/4/8), base(-3), defaultstat(ST), relname(ST)
ST/VH, cost(1/2/4/8), base(-4), defaultstat(ST), relname(ST)
__________________
"Guys, I think maybe this whole time we've been the villains."
Engurrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 07:40 PM   #4
Armin
GCA Prime
 
Armin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Default Re: Strength Based Skill

For one-offs, you can also just Add Tag the stat tag to the skill, setting its value to ST. That allows for overriding the default stat for the skill type of the skill in question with a different attribute.

Of course, if you're comfortable with it, the new SkillType is much more obviously based on a different attribute.
__________________
Armin D. Sykes | My GCA page
I am working on the new GCA as fast as my life allows. I post updates here.
Armin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2017, 09:22 AM   #5
Engurrand
 
Engurrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wormtooth Nation
Default Re: Strength Based Skill

Great! Thanks for the replies folks. I know I can always count on swift assistance here, and that makes a fella happy. Mischief managed. :)
__________________
"Guys, I think maybe this whole time we've been the villains."
Engurrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
strength, strength skills

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.