Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2012, 10:39 AM   #1
The Big Boo
 
The Big Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
Default Another cheat and ship enhancer question?

A person can play a ship card and use a cheat card to play a second ship card.

Or a person can play a ship card and use a cheat card to add a ship enhancer that they could not normally use (such as british using a poop deck)

This much we all know to be true,



What my friend did the other night was play a ship card, a few turns later used cheat to add the poop deck even though they were british, then claims that the cheat affected the whole ship so was now leagally allowed to play a second ship.

Is that correct do ships and ship enhancers become one and so a cheat card affects them all as if they were one item?
The Big Boo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 11:53 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Another cheat and ship enhancer question?

Hmmmm. I'm going to say that the Cheat! is on Poop Deck, not on the Ship, so it only affects Poop Deck.

However, the Ship Enhancer is attached thus: If the Ship goes, the Enhancer goes. However, one can normally detach a Ship Enhancer in order to discard it (not trade, not move to another Ship, but a discard) in order to sell it, or for Curses/Bad Stuff which say you must discard Items or cards.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 12:24 PM   #3
The Big Boo
 
The Big Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
Default Re: Another cheat and ship enhancer question?

Thanks very much for the reply,

I can't wait to rub this forum post in my friends face at our next munchkin get together.

Sadly Our next munchkin get together will be his birthday and I have bought him Munchkin Quest so I doubt we will end up playing Munchkin Booty anyway.
The Big Boo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 02:27 PM   #4
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Another cheat and ship enhancer question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
However, the Ship Enhancer is attached thus: If the Ship goes, the Enhancer goes. However, one can normally detach a Ship Enhancer in order to discard it (not trade, not move to another Ship, but a discard) in order to sell it, or for Curses/Bad Stuff which say you must discard Items or cards.
Wow, is that a new change? I thought we couldn't detach Enhancers for any reason. You said so here (albeit in it 2008, so you could have changed your mind). I'm fairly sure there's other, more recent rulings from both you and Andrew saying the opposite of this too. Plus, what's the point of a Ship Enhancer adding its value to the Ship it's attached to (from the Booty Rules) if you can just go and sell the Ship Enhancer?
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 03:06 PM   #5
The Big Boo
 
The Big Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
Default Re: Another cheat and ship enhancer question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
Wow, is that a new change? I thought we couldn't detach Enhancers for any reason. You said so here (albeit in it 2008, so you could have changed your mind). I'm fairly sure there's other, more recent rulings from both you and Andrew saying the opposite of this too. Plus, what's the point of a Ship Enhancer adding its value to the Ship it's attached to (from the Booty Rules) if you can just go and sell the Ship Enhancer?
If you sell the ship you are also discarding it, I guess what they are trying to get at is you can sell individual enhancers or you can sell the ship as a whole but you can't sell the ship and keep the enhancers!
The Big Boo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 03:19 PM   #6
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Another cheat and ship enhancer question?

I just found the more recent example (one month ago) where MunchkinMan said selling of attached ship enhancers alone wasn't allowed:
Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
Once a Ship Enhancer is attached to a Ship, it's attached to the Ship. You can't take it off to sell it.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cheat, enhancer, ship

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.