Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > Play By Post

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2020, 10:55 AM   #291
ericthered
Hero of Democracy
 
ericthered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far from the ocean
Default Re: A Challenger Appears! Green versus Red

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plane View Post
I think I need to make a notepad and keep track of stats there so I don't have to keep scrolling to past posts to remind myself :) It gets harder and harder the more tangents...
Perhaps on the first two posts in the thread?

Quote:
I was searching for instances of "HP" and I can't seem to find any since then, so I assume neither of us was injured since these?

I assume you're still at 7/10 HP from the torso hit and I seem to have went from 7/12 to 6/12 HP but I can't figure out where =/
I searched dice roller for "damage". You seem to have a bunch of -1 damage rolls from falls.

Quote:
So I think AP-wise I'm at 6/12 you're at 5/10 .. ?
I believe that is correct.
Quote:
FP-wise you're at I'm at 9/12 and you're at... I want to guess 8/10 but I'm not sure.
You're one too high in both cases. see post #171. its 8/12 and 7/10.

Quote:
If you agree on that 9 or less randomness would you roll it?
Yes. No collision. Barely.

Quote:
If it succeeds, I guess either of us could treat it like an attack and make a defence against if if we wanted to?
Sure... not that it matters.

So I think Green is now running full speed away from red, and both have their backs to each other. I think that counts as Green's turn, as we've already rolled for his move.

So I think Green specifies speed changes, Red decides if he wants to obstruct, and then its Red's turn.
__________________
Worlds Beyond Earth -- my blog
ericthered is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 02:47 PM   #292
Plane
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Default Re: A Challenger Appears! Green versus Red

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericthered View Post
So I think Green specifies speed changes, Red decides if he wants to obstruct, and then its Red's turn.
He won't slow down but if you don't obstruct and I end up in your rear hex, if there is MP to spare he'll probably try and use up what remains (I guess free 60 degree turn?) to avoid having you start your turn directly behind him.
Plane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2020, 12:10 PM   #293
ericthered
Hero of Democracy
 
ericthered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far from the ocean
Default Re: A Challenger Appears! Green versus Red

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plane View Post
He won't slow down but if you don't obstruct and I end up in your rear hex, if there is MP to spare he'll probably try and use up what remains (I guess free 60 degree turn?) to avoid having you start your turn directly behind him.
But.... But... All Out Telegraphic Kick to the Vitals from behind!


Kidding. Sort of.

60 degree turn works. left or right?

Red will not obstruct.
__________________
Worlds Beyond Earth -- my blog
ericthered is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 12:22 PM   #294
Plane
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Default Re: A Challenger Appears! Green versus Red

*reviews*
I had to use 2 Movement Points to enter your hex, leaving me with 1 unspent Movement Point to use after I resolved my attack against you.

But... now I'm wondering if I should actually be allowed to turn at all.

Normally you need to spend a Movement Point to automatically evade an ally, and I think most house rules apply a similar concept to if you successfully evade an enemy.

Even though AP-wise I'm owed a "free" 60-degree turn (even though I hate the idea of 'free' step/turn stuff and want to charge for EVERYTHING, I think we established we'd use them) MP-wise I might not be able to take advantage of that freeby if I had to expend that MP to get past you...

Unless... should we wave the usual MP fee if using the "9 or less" accidental collision rules?

IE spending the MP is basically what you do when passing through allies' hexes to waive the assumed usual need to roll that? IE sort of like pre-dodging?

EDIT: wait... actually... I think I would need to spent a movement point to exit your hex (into your rear or left or right hex) which I wouldn't be able to do at all if I had to spend my 3rd MP to merely evade you...

What would even happen if you spent your last MP to evade someone? Wouldn't that mean you'd actually need 2 MP to go from "sharing my ally's hex" to "passing through my ally to exit his hex into his rear hex" ?

Last edited by Plane; 01-26-2020 at 12:25 PM.
Plane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:24 AM   #295
ericthered
Hero of Democracy
 
ericthered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far from the ocean
Default Re: A Challenger Appears! Green versus Red

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plane View Post
Normally you need to spend a Movement Point to automatically evade an ally, and I think most house rules apply a similar concept to if you successfully evade an enemy.

Unless... should we wave the usual MP fee if using the "9 or less" accidental collision rules?

IE spending the MP is basically what you do when passing through allies' hexes to waive the assumed usual need to roll that? IE sort of like pre-dodging?
I'd wave the MP fee. And I'd say that friends who want to save the MP can use the 9 or less collision rules. It will bite them eventually. So yes.

Quote:
Even though AP-wise I'm owed a "free" 60-degree turn (even though I hate the idea of 'free' step/turn stuff and want to charge for EVERYTHING, I think we established we'd use them) MP-wise I might not be able to take advantage of that freeby if I had to expend that MP to get past you...
Yes, we've established we're using the free stuff, at least for this combat.


Quote:
EDIT: wait... actually... I think I would need to spent a movement point to exit your hex (into your rear or left or right hex) which I wouldn't be able to do at all if I had to spend my 3rd MP to merely evade you...
I think you would have ended up in my hex if you were trying to evade me... and I think evasion normally does allow you to pass someone but end in their hex. I've got this image of Jacky Chan rolling through someone's legs and then popping up behind them in what gurps calls close combat.

Quote:
What would even happen if you spent your last MP to evade someone? Wouldn't that mean you'd actually need 2 MP to go from "sharing my ally's hex" to "passing through my ally to exit his hex into his rear hex" ?
yes, passing through the allies hex to the hex beyond normally takes 2 MP.
__________________
Worlds Beyond Earth -- my blog
ericthered is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.