Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Closed Thread

Old 05-27-2019, 01:43 PM   #1
Ezra

Default Star Trek Campaigns: Prime Directive vs GURPS Space/Spaceships/Psionics 4e

BLUF: Does the time saved reading 1 book as opposed to 3-4 justify the suboptimal templates/space combat provided in Prime Directive?

What I want to Run
I'm new to the GURPS system, but I want to start a science fiction campaign this year. I'm leaning towards setting the game in the Star Trek universe. I feel like this would save me a lot of worldbuilding since I have a finite amount of time to work on a campaign, and I'm working through the growing pains of a new system.

I'm a little conflicted about resources though. I own GURPS Space, Spaceships, and Spaceships 3 for 4th ed., but I also picked up Prime Directive. At the time, I assumed Prime Directive was a straight Star Trek setting source book. After the fact, I learned about the Star Fleet Universe vs Star Trek Universe legal fiasco.

Prime Directive Pros
I'm fine with that though. What I really wanted from the book were templates for some of the Star Trek races (which it has), descriptions of Star Trek hierarchy (which it also has, albeit with deviations from Star Trek canon), and ship statistics, and a basic space combat system (which it also provides). As far as I'm concerned, there's enough universe info available online to flesh out the rest of the Star Trek universe.

I also like the idea of space combat working as a sort of mini-game to complement the RPG. Steve Jackson's Sorcery! implements these kinds of mini games and I find they enhance the fun of an rpg.

Lastly, and this is a big plus, Prime Directive would save me the preparation time of reading 3-4 GURPS (Space, Spaceships, Spaceships 3, Ultratech, Psionics, etc.) books as opposed to one.

Cons