Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 05-27-2018, 02:32 AM   #1
Rabek

Default Dependency/Maintenance for Rituals

So I am going to start play in a new GURPS game.

The GM of this game is letting me play as, what amounts to, a golem/construct. This is my first time building something so very non-human, and the GM is not providing templates. I have many obstacles to getting things how I want, but there is one in particular.

Golems in their setting run on magic, and that magic slowly drains. How mine, in particular, recharges that magic has been left up to me, as the setting allows for as many different methods as there are constructs.

I've decided on a ritual (destroying an effigy) that must be done in a certain environment (a junkyard) but does not have to be a specific place, as long as it meets the requirements (being a junkyard).

I've thought of using Dependency. I've thought of using Maintenance. I've thought of using Restricted Diet. None are quite perfect, though I'll probably use Dependency if nothing better comes up.

In short: How would you guys model a being that doesn't need to eat, but does need to perform a ritual in a certain environment once a week or slowly run out of power and die? As I'm not the GM, RAW would be preferred, without house rules.
Rabek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 02:53 PM   #2
trechriron

Default Re: Dependency/Maintenance for Rituals

I would like to take a pitch at it, but I can't until I get home later.

First question - are you sure you want the junkyard restriction?

I feel like burning a sacrifice of goods or something daily would suffice. It would be like Upkeep. The junkyard restriction sounds horribly restrictive for your average adventurer.
My Blog
trechriron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 08:36 PM   #3
Rabek