Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > In Nomine

Old 07-26-2007, 12:48 AM   #1
tHEhERETIC

Default Anyone fluent in French?

I've just babelfished my way through a document I've written for my IN LARP in September. I studied enough French in school to catch the obvious errors, but I would like a native speaker to critique what I've written. It's a character's diary (even though he calls it a Captain's Log) and makes references to IN type things.

I'm sure the players would forgive bad French, but I'd rather have it beautiful.

Captain's Log of a hellsworm
tHEhERETIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 05:19 PM   #2
Archangel Beth
In Nomine Line Editor

Default Re: Anyone fluent in French?

I've run this past a friend, who has been known to translate the French In Nomine Satanis/Magna Veritas for me, and her comment is that, well, it's Babelfish. She'd suggest handing it over in English and saying, "This is a translation of the French."

Assuming, that is, that the prospective players are English-readers.
Old 07-26-2007, 06:35 PM   #3
alduc

As a native French-speaker, I agree. It would be easier to do a proper French translation from the English original than from babelspeak.
alduc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 11:18 PM   #4
tHEhERETIC

Quote:
Originally Posted by alduc
As a native French-speaker, I agree. It would be easier to do a proper French translation from the English original than from babelspeak.

Thank you both. The (original) English is below the babel. If you want to take a crack at it, I'll definitely give you credit. It's a game prop, but if the game goes well I don't mind sharing the whole game with other GM's.