Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 06-30-2009, 07:13 PM   #1
Psychotime

Default Face changing?

Hiya, Silly Rookie here.

Ok, I'm trying to make a character that's a Noppera-bō.

I'm new to pen and paper RPGs, and I'm trying to find out how exactly I would apply the main trait of the creature: The ability to change their face. While it's essentially shape-shifting, it's limited to only one place. And it's a racial trait. How do I apply something like this?

Last edited by Psychotime; 06-30-2009 at 07:25 PM.
Psychotime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 07:33 PM   #2
Rocket Man
Petitioner: Word of IN Filk

Default Re: Face changing?

Hmmm ... there's others who are better steeped in "Gurps Fu" than me, but I'd call "Face Only" a 10 percent limitation on Shapeshifting.

To my mind, it's similar to the "Flawed" limitation in GURPS Powers (also 10%) where every form you change into has a cosmetic imperfection that keeps you from duplicating somebody. In this case, the imperfection is that your body doesn't change with it. That limits its utility for impersonation, since in most scenarios, people will be able to tell that the Sailor Moon head doesn't go with the rest of the body. (At least, as long as a TV monitor, webcam, or some other sort of tight-frame vision isn't involved.)

As for the fact that it's a racial trait, it depends on what you mean by that. Is the power magical, and thus not likely to work when magical energy is weak or gone? (10 percent limitation for "Magical"). Does it require the creature to use its own energy reserves to power the ability, costing it Fatigue? (10 percent limitaiton for "Biological") Or is it something that's simply a neat detail but has no further game effect? (No points)

Author: "What Doesn't Kill Me Makes Me Stronger"