Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2008, 12:39 PM   #1
mercinary
 
Join Date: May 2008
Default Insurance Salesman Bad Stuff + Tamed Steed

Insurance Salesman card bad stuff states that you have to cough up items worth 1000 gold pieces or lose everything (e.g. lose all items). I searched the forums and saw related questions, but not an exact ruling on the below scenario, so here we go.

Scenario:

* Player has previously tamed a Steed via the Ranger special ability.
* Player fights Insurance Salesman.
* Player must run, fails run away.
* No other items are in play.

Does the tamed steed (which has no value) still count as an item and thus get discarded?

-Merc
mercinary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 12:58 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Insurance Salesman Bad Stuff + Tamed Steed

The card text I have right now (which may not be the final text that went to print) would seem to indicate that the new Steed is treated SLIGHTLY differently than your average Steed, in that it can't be Traded or sold, but I think that it would still follow that if you didn't have enough value in other Items to give up due to the Insurance Salesman's Bad Stuff, your Steed would have to go.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 01:01 PM   #3
ArcadianRefugee
 
ArcadianRefugee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Roanoke, Virginia, US
Default Re: Insurance Salesman Bad Stuff + Tamed Steed

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercinary
Does the tamed steed (which has no value) still count as an item and thus get discarded?
From the Need for Steed rules:

"Steeds are Items, and follow normal Item rules. Anything that affects an Item can affect a Steed."

I'd say that means "Yeup, your new tamed Steed goes bye-bye."
__________________
--
Kendel
ArcadianRefugee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 01:11 PM   #4
mercinary
 
Join Date: May 2008
Default Re: Insurance Salesman Bad Stuff + Tamed Steed

That's what I thought. Thanks folks.

-Merc
mercinary is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.