Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2018, 03:14 AM   #81
vicky_molokh
GURPS FAQ Keeper
 
vicky_molokh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kyv, Ukraine
Default Re: (Unofficial) FAQ of the GURPS Fora

Q: I'm confused about how various conditions affect explosions (contact, internal etc.). How is explosion damage modified depending on the situation?
A:
Here's Kromm's view summary of explosion conditions:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kromm View Post
At any rate, do note the progression:
  • At distance: Damage is 1, divided by (10 distance in yards) in vacuum, (3 distance in yards) in air, (2 distance in yards) for FAE in air, or (distance in yards) in water. Use this for distant combat explosions.
  • At touch on exterior: Damage is 1. Use this for direct hits in combat.
  • Tamped or shaped on exterior (High-Tech, pp. 182-183): Halves explosive weight needed. Effectively, damage is 1.4. Use this for most demolition.
  • Fully contained on exterior (p. B415): Maximum damage. Effectively, damage is 1.7. Use this for demolition where explosive is in gap or applied over full surface of object.
  • Internal (p. B415): Wounding, and effectively damage, is 3. Use this for explosive bullets in flesh, for instance. In the head (e.g., cyberpunk brain-bombs), use 4! For targets with No Vitals or Homogenous, treat as tamped (1.4) only.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kromm View Post
Yeah, in the brain, use 4. And no, don't use maximum damage for this. The 3 or 4 for being inside someone is instead of that. "Maximum damage" is just a way to avoid saying "12/7."
The thing that eluded me for a while was that when some books say 'in contact', they actually mean 'in contact with both the target and another surface on the opposite side from the target side' ('fully contained on exterior').
__________________
Vicky 'Molokh', GURPS FAQ and uFAQ Keeper
Also, GURPS Discord is a nice place for (faster) Q&A and overall GURPS dicussion.

Last edited by vicky_molokh; 06-05-2018 at 03:17 AM.
vicky_molokh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 05:34 AM   #82
vicky_molokh
GURPS FAQ Keeper
 
vicky_molokh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kyv, Ukraine
Default Re: (Unofficial) FAQ of the GURPS Fora

Q: How does a vehicle's ST interact with its Load and LWt? What happens if a vehicle's load exceeds its rated Load?

A:
Quote:
Originally Posted by David L Pulver View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybermancer2k1
I was trying to convert some GURPS Traveller starships to 4e using the examples in Book 2 as a guide. I'm not quite sure what the relationship is between the vehicle's ST and its Loaded Weight/Load.
____________________________________

Vehicle ST does not relate to its loaded weight. In terms of characters, vehicles have PAYLOAD, the Advantage of having extra load above Strength.

A vehicle's power output, of course, relates to its total loaded weight. A vehicle's ST is essentially what is left over after subtracting the power went into ST and speed. In practice, the limit is more structural ST, so find ST the same way you find HP: (the cube root of vehicle empty weight in tons) x 50.
__________________
Vicky 'Molokh', GURPS FAQ and uFAQ Keeper
Also, GURPS Discord is a nice place for (faster) Q&A and overall GURPS dicussion.
vicky_molokh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
faq, heals fp, heals fp only, kromm explanation, ufaq

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.