Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Collectible Card Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2018, 11:42 AM   #1
jknason
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Default Free Bird Question

Can anyone explain to me the benefit of this card? It says that it has no hiring cost, and yet all committed gold is moved to your purse. As far as I understand, you can't fight monsters with monsters, so. How is this card used?

Thanks!
jknason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 12:07 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Free Bird Question

You can overpay for it to try to get your opponent to commit weapons and/or allies to the fight. And then you get your gold back to spend on other monsters now that your opponent's defenses have already been used.

You can also put it out as a zero-cost Monster, let your opponent decide to take the hit, and then use a Mischief to increase its power.

I'm sure there are other uses I'm not thinking of at the moment.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 12:11 PM   #3
ClassicFrog
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Default Re: Free Bird Question

basically lets you cheat without actually cheating.

so the strategy is to overpay for him and if your target calls your bluff you take no damage.
ClassicFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 12:16 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Free Bird Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClassicFrog View Post
basically lets you cheat without actually cheating.
If you successfully hire a monster (and it would hard NOT to hire Freebird!), you aren't cheating, by definition. I don't understand your comment.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 01:56 PM   #5
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Free Bird Question

I understand what the intent of the comment was, even though, since "cheat" is a defined game term, it isn't really accurate.

It basically lets you try to get the benefits of "cheating" (bluffing your opponent into committing resources) without any of the risks of ACTUALLY cheating. If your bluff is called you take no damage and you still get all your gold back like you would with an actual cheating situation. My son HATED this card when I played the Bard starter against him.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.