Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Collectible Card Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2018, 10:00 PM   #1
kevster
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Default Is dealing damage from a card ability mandatory?

If a monster ability triggers and says to deal a damage to target ally, and my opponent has no allies in play but I do, am I obligated to target my own ally?
kevster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 10:50 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Is dealing damage from a card ability mandatory?

Yes, you are.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 06:03 AM   #3
Lainw
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default Re: Is dealing damage from a card ability mandatory?

Ok - I'm not following this one --- It would target my own ally? Even if it's just in my hoard and not in play since I've hired the monster and my opponent is the defender at this point?? My ally in my hoard will take the damage???
Lainw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 06:33 AM   #4
ClassicFrog
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Default Re: Is dealing damage from a card ability mandatory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lainw View Post
Ok - I'm not following this one --- It would target my own ally? Even if it's just in my hoard and not in play since I've hired the monster and my opponent is the defender at this point?? My ally in my hoard will take the damage???
Allies that are in your hoard (that is: not currently engaged in a fight) can absolutely be targeted and take damage from things.

have you seen dogpile?
http://munchkinccg.game/gameplay/car...-core/dogpile/

so yea the ex-executioner is a bit of a double edged sword if your opponent doesn't have a legal target. play with care. (he loved his job a little too much)
ClassicFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 08:24 AM   #5
kevster
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Default Re: Is dealing damage from a card ability mandatory?

Thanks Andrew!
kevster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.