Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > The Gnomes of Zurich > The Industry

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2020, 05:18 PM   #1
pzmcgwire's Avatar
Join Date: May 2018
Default Charles. S. Roberts Award Voting closes on June 15, 2020

Voting for the annual Charles S. Roberts Awards for excellence in conflict simulation is back.

Votes can be cast at through June 15, 2020.

Named after the founder of the Avalon Hill Game Company, the Charles S. Roberts (CSR) Awards are the oldest board game awards, dating back to 1975 and are annually voted on by fans.

You can vote for up to three games or individuals in as many or as few categories.

Any game that has a historical or conflict simulation element would qualify, as long as it fits in one of the categories below:

Milieu Awards
Best Ancients to Pre-Napoleonic Era Board Wargame
Best Napoleonic Era Board Wargame
Best Post-Napoleonic to Pre-World War 2 Era Board Wargame
Best World War 2 Era Board Wargame
Best Post-WW2, Cold War, & Hypothetical Era Board Wargame
Best Science-Fiction or Fantasy Board Wargame

Format Awards
Best Solitaire/Cooperative Board Wargame
Best Magazine Board Wargame
Best Amateur / Print-and-Play Board Wargame
Best Postcard/Small format Board Wargame
Best Expansion or Supplement for an Existing Board Wargame
Best Board Wargame Playing Components
Best Board Wargame Map Graphics
Best Board Wargame Rules
Best Original Box Cover Art

Computer Gaming Awards
Best Pre-20th Century Era Computer Wargame
Best Modern Era Computer Wargame
Best Science-Fiction or Fantasy Computer Wargame
Best Computer Wargame Expansion or Update
Best Computer Wargame Graphics
Best Board Wargame Computer Assist Module

Publication Awards
Best Professional Wargame Magazine
Best Amateur Game Magazine
Best Historical or Scenario Article
Best Game Review or Analysis

Overall Awards
Best Board Wargame of the Year
James F Dunnigan Award for Playability and Design
Clausewitz Award HALL OF FAME

The last award here is for an individual and is named after legendary military writer Carl von Clausewitz. The Clausewitz Hall of Fame award is intended to recognize a lifetime of excellence to individuals who have made a significant impact on the hobby and anyone who is not previously elected is eligible.

See for a list of current inductees.

Steve Jackson is a member of the Hall of Fame and games like Car Wars and Illuminati were previous winners in 1981 and 1982.

Consider voting for any eligible games published in 2019 and any gaming individuals for accomplishments last year or in their lifetime.
pzmcgwire is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.