Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2019, 09:13 PM   #1
HappyWackers
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default Thief class: When a Thief can use Theft:

These thief questions have been addressed before on the forums, but my playgroup wants Andrew to answer them with current Munchkin errata if possible. If there is no real ruling for the thief ability we will use house rules even though we would rather use official rulings. Also, there are many different combination of answers on the forums/online for this question, so this is why we are just looking for Andrews response if possible. Thanks again for any input.

These are not Munchkin CCG questions.

Thief class question:

When can a thief use the Theft ability?

Can the thief be in combat?

Can the victim be in combat?

Can it be at the beginning of the game or level 1?


Theft says "You may discard a card to try to seal a small item carried by another player." so does that mean only one possible theft chance on one player per turn or one possible theft on each player per turn?

OR

Can a thief discard as many cards as they want in attempt to steal cards from another player?


All of these questions take in consideration a level loss with failed dice rolls.

All of these questions bother my playgroup, since not a single thief card talks about combat.

Last edited by HappyWackers; 07-29-2019 at 09:17 PM.
HappyWackers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 09:28 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Thief class: When a Thief can use Theft:

The rules say a Thief cannot try to steal when either the Thief or the victim is in combat -- in, IIRC, three separate places. It's not on the card because there's already a LOT of text on the card.

Assuming neither the Thief nor the victim is in combat, the Thief can try to steal as long as she has the cards to discard. Even at Level 1, because losing the level isn't a cost of the ability but a penalty for failing to steal successfully. The cost is discarding the card.

If by "the beginning of the game" you mean before the first player starts their turn, then no. You have to wait until the game actually begins.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
class, munchkin, theft, thief

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.