Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2012, 03:25 PM   #1
Sikhamsouk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default Not so fast me bucko ruling

Hey there, so I played a wishing ring earlier in the game and later when I tried to use it someone used not so fast me bucko. Can it work that way or does it have to be played as soon as I put the wishin ring down? Also, can I play not so fast me bucko when someone draws a card face down?
Sikhamsouk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 03:56 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Not so fast me bucko ruling

Hmm... you did play it to the table earlier, but I believe activating it is another play of the card. The rules say that any one-shot item can be 'played' whether you have it in your hand or on the table. Thus, I think this is a valid use of Not So Fast Me Bucko as you would thus be playing the Wishing Ring when you use it.

The other question about whether you can 'cancel' the draw of a face down card and what that would mean (most likely, just discarding it) is going to require an official ruling, though.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 04:22 PM   #3
xena
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Littlefield,texas
Default Re: Not so fast me bucko ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
Hmm... you did play it to the table earlier, but I believe activating it is another play of the card. The rules say that any one-shot item can be 'played' whether you have it in your hand or on the table. Thus, I think this is a valid use of Not So Fast Me Bucko as you would thus be playing the Wishing Ring when you use it.

The other question about whether you can 'cancel' the draw of a face down card and what that would mean (most likely, just discarding it) is going to require an official ruling, though.
i would ask czar about it.
xena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 05:59 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Not so fast me bucko ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by xena View Post
i would ask czar about it.
Or me.

The card says it may be played immediately after someone draws or plays a card. There's nothing saying it has to be face-up or face-down, so it doesn't matter.

As for the first part of the question, there is a difference between playing a one-shot Item and putting it in play, but they would both count as playing the card. One shot cards, then, by their very nature, can get knocked away by Not So Fast, Me Bucko! in two possible situations.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 08:27 PM   #5
xena
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Littlefield,texas
Default Re: Not so fast me bucko ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
Or me.

The card says it may be played immediately after someone draws or plays a card. There's nothing saying it has to be face-up or face-down, so it doesn't matter.

As for the first part of the question, there is a difference between playing a one-shot Item and putting it in play, but they would both count as playing the card. One shot cards, then, by their very nature, can get knocked away by Not So Fast, Me Bucko! in two possible situations.
Sorry about that Munchkin Man
xena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 08:31 PM   #6
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Not so fast me bucko ruling

'Cancelling' a card drawn face-down still means we just discard it, right?
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:03 PM   #7
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Not so fast me bucko ruling

I'm not sure what else you'd do with it, so yes.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 01:14 AM   #8
Sikhamsouk
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default Re: Not so fast me bucko ruling

Thank you for your timely response MM. One more question regarding not so fast me bucko, if you are a pirate during your loot phase it says you may take a card from the discard. Could not so fast me bucko be played on the card they took from the discard, even though it doesn't say draw from the discard pile? Words can be tricky but munchkins will do and say anything to win. At least from my experience :)
Sikhamsouk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 04:42 AM   #9
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Not so fast me bucko ruling

The Pirate is still performing an action that is part of a card drawing action, so yes, you could cancel the card drawn from the Treasure deck or Treasure discards by a Pirate using Buried Treasure.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 06:35 AM   #10
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Default Re: Not so fast me bucko ruling

What's happening if "Not so fast me bucko" is played after Wandering Monster + monster card. Which card is cancelled - Wandering Monster, monster card or both of them?
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.