Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 01-26-2014, 10:21 AM   #1
InexplicableVic

Default Newbie Combat Questions

So, I am new to GURPS and was interested in messing around with sample combat with my son. We first did not roll, just used the combat example of “Melee 2” from - Using www.themook.net’s combat example (the basic version) as a starting point. Then we said, OK, let’s just do this as a sample, let’s see how it works. Hilarity ensues as Arthur is either killed or is almost dead in two seconds. But that raises some questions. Here’s the description of the combat plus the questions.

Round 1: Zach readies his mace, Arthur readies his broadsword

Round 2: Zach (ST12, DX12, Axe/Mace-16, 2d+1 cr) is fighting Arthur (ST12, HT12, Leather Armor, no helmet, Dodge-8, Parry-11, Broadsword-14), who is 2 yards away. Zach has a higher speed, so he goes first, decides to move and attack (-4 to hit), random hit location (B400).[Q1] He rolls a 7 against a net skill of 12. That’s a possible hit.

Arthur decides to parry rather than dodge. He rolls a 15; he does not parry. Zach rolls to determine hit location, rolls a 4 (skull!). This is bad; Arthur has no helmet. Zach rolls damage (2d+1 crushing), and rolls two 6s—13 basic damage (max), and presumably[Q2] Arthur also suffers knockback of one yard (B378, 1 yd for every multiple of basic damage of ST -2, so 10 for Arthur). Since Arthur’s DR on his unprotected skull is only 2 (B399), the blow does 11 penetrating damage, but…against the skull, there is a 4x multiplier (B399), so that’s 44 hp of injury!