Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2018, 07:20 AM   #1
zot
 
Join Date: May 2018
Default Gatekeeper talent prereqs

A minimum attribute value is one style of gate keeping.

A talent prerequisite is another.

These don't seem to help much with "keeping mastery talents away from noob characters" and several people have called for that capability.

One way to do it would be to require a certain attribute total, which I do in the Theurgy talents.

Last edited by zot; 07-05-2019 at 12:46 AM. Reason: corrected noon to noob
zot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 09:52 AM   #2
luguvalium
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Gatekeeper talent prereqs

Quote:
Originally Posted by zot View Post

One way to do it would be to require a certain attribute total,
Two talents, Strategist and Captain, require standard prerequisites plus two years experience. I can see using attribute total as one way to measure total experience.
luguvalium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 11:32 AM   #3
Steve Jackson
President and EIC
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default Re: Gatekeeper talent prereqs

Hmmmmmmmmm!
Steve Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 12:23 PM   #4
zot
 
Join Date: May 2018
Default Re: Gatekeeper talent prereqs

I think of the number of attribute points after 32 as "character rank" which goes from 0 to 8.

People might cringe at that but neo-TFT kind of does have something like character level 1 to 9 now...
zot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 11:03 PM   #5
Rick_Smith
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Coquitlam B.C.
Default Re: Gatekeeper talent prereqs

Quote:
Originally Posted by zot View Post
A minimum attribute value is one style of gate keeping.

A talent prerequisite is another.

These don't seem to help much with "keeping mastery talents away from noob characters" and several people have called for that capability. ...
Hi Zot, everyone.
If the talent wants to measure general capacity, say that your Middle Attribute needs to be at this level. (Nod to Zot.) This works OK, if it is rare, I wouldn't want to do it for many talents.

Warm regards, Rick.
Rick_Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 12:47 AM   #6
zot
 
Join Date: May 2018
Default Re: Gatekeeper talent prereqs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick_Smith View Post
Hi Zot, everyone.
If the talent wants to measure general capacity, say that your Middle Attribute needs to be at this level. (Nod to Zot.) This works OK, if it is rare, I wouldn't want to do it for many talents.

Warm regards, Rick.
Cool idea! I hadn't thought of, er, giving talents the middle attribute. :)
zot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.