Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2018, 02:42 AM   #1
zot
 
Join Date: May 2018
Default Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonus?

The subject says it all...
zot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 09:52 AM   #2
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Good question; I would say after.
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 09:57 AM   #3
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

The difference between an adjacent hex strike and HTH is that in HTH the RP is adding a bite to her claw attack so give her a second attack rather than doubled damage.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 05:05 PM   #4
Helborn
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

I would say before. UC is the knowledge of WHERE and/or HOW to hit. Claws and teeth simply do more damage in that location than hands and fingernails.
ITL pg 39 (1) because of his jaws and claws, he does double the HTH damage that a human of equivalent ST would (Nothing is mentioned about this being a double attack which would require a separate roll at -4DX to one of them - like a RM tail)
__________________
Helborn
Helborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 05:08 PM   #5
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

What form of martial arts trains biting?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 05:14 PM   #6
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
What form of martial arts trains biting?
Chomp Fu, Dragon Fu...
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 05:33 PM   #7
Tenex
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
What form of martial arts trains biting?
Kino Mutai, aka Kinomutay trains in it. I've never trained in it or even seen it, but I've been told that they train on taking successive small bites rather than one big one.

But on another level, why wouldn't a reptile man martial art exist? Human martial arts emphasize our "natural" weapons, i.e. elbows, knees, etc. I would imagine a reptile man martial art would emphasize such a wonderous natural advantage.
Tenex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 07:36 PM   #8
tomc
 
tomc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
The difference between an adjacent hex strike and HTH is that in HTH the RP is adding a bite to her claw attack so give her a second attack rather than doubled damage.
I'd consider it part of the 5 seconds worth of attacks she gets that turn, and just double it.
__________________
OgreMap2

Freedom of Speech is not Freedom of Podium
tomc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 07:44 PM   #9
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomc View Post
I'd consider it part of the 5 seconds worth of attacks she gets that turn, and just double it.
Is the target's armor counted twice or once?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 08:49 PM   #10
Helborn
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
Is the target's armor counted twice or once?
Obviously if it is two attacks then the armor counts for each attack, but if it is only an enhanced attack then it only counts once.

(ITL 108: This is a subtraction from each successful attack against the protected figure. If a figure wearing chainmail is hit by two attacks during the same turn, one doing 5 hits damage and the other 3, he would actually take only 2 hits damage from the first attack and none at all from the second. The chainmail stops the other hits.)
__________________
Helborn
Helborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.