Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2018, 04:15 AM   #1
Norse
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Default Using Inept! in response so a class ability

Hello!

Player A who is a wizard is in a combat. He announces "I'm going to charm the monster so I get the treasure!"

Player B says "No you're not!" and plays the curse "Inept" on player A.

Is it legal for player B to play this curse in response to another player using a class ability or does Inept! have to be played prior to another player trying to use a class ability?

Thank you!
Norse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 06:11 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Using Inept! in response so a class ability

If player A had already discarded his hand to power the charm spell, then the monster was charmed. If player A had announced his intention but NOT discarded the cards yet, then player B's Curse would take effect. If the discards and the Curse hit the table at the same moment, assume the charm goes off before the Curse.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 03:20 PM   #3
Norse
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Default Re: Using Inept! in response so a class ability

Thank you for your reply!

What if player A is a thief and announces he is going to try and steal an item from another player? Does Inept! have to be cast before the thief rolls the die or can it be cast after the die is rolled? Thinking back to the original "Curses can be played at any time"-rule.
Norse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 04:30 PM   #4
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Using Inept! in response so a class ability

Similar to the charm spell, the thing that triggers the theft is the thief discarding a card. Once the thief discards a card, it is too late to play "inept".
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
class ability, inept

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.