Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 05-25-2016, 02:58 AM   #1
Tallor

Default Damaged Barrels and Malfunctions

This would be extremely unlikely... but if a bullet were to hit the barrel of a weapon and penetrate its DR (whether the weapon be a rifle or a tank gun) would it possibly cause a stoppage? Has that ever happened?

And I'd definitely be curious if that misfortune has ever happened with HE rounds! Yikes!
Tallor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 03:25 AM   #2
The Colonel

Default Re: Damaged Barrels and Malfunctions

It's entirely possible for rounds to stick in a damaged barrel - although it's at least as likely that they will burst the bore instead. I've no personal experience of it, but I've been warned of it as a hazard in the case of a bent rifle barrel - realistically a barrel hit from an equivalent weapon is likely to do something that puts the weapon beyond safe use.

IIRC there's a scene in Tali-Ihantala 1944 where one of the Finnish StuGs suffers gun damage, tries to fire and bursts its bore, but I have no idea how realistic that is...
The Colonel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 04:43 AM   #3
Lord Azagthoth

Last year, someone's rifle exploded at the range in Harskamp.

The cause was a piece of cleaning cloth still inside the barrel. The shooter got wounded and some other shooters lying left and right of him got very lightly wounded.

The result was that private gun owners were banned from the shooting range (and we have only two outdoor shooting ranges in the Netherlands).

The Germans experimented with bent barrels successfully. The bullet doesn't get stuck inside of it (of course, the barrel is made this way).