Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Collectible Card Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2018, 03:33 PM   #1
Malkavman
 
Malkavman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Topeka, KS
Default Complicated-ish question(Thief Deck)

When using the Gambeson of Gambling to avoid damage, and you roll a 6 while the Lucky Giant's Toe is in play, provided that only one damage was being dealt from the original source, does the roll of 6 also prevent the damage from the Toe? Basically, is there a specific order of damage/zap/roll/toe ability?
__________________
-Brandon Murphy
MiB 0787

"I wouldn't even take a whiz on this! I used to DREAM of taking a whiz on this!" - The Monarch
Malkavman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 03:52 PM   #2
Aleph
Administrator
 
Aleph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Central Network
Default Re: Complicated-ish question(Thief Deck)

In general, an ability must completely resolve before another ability can begin to resolve. However, interrupts and triggers are exceptions to this, and jump into the order.

The Lucky Giant's Toe is a triggered ability:
Quote:
Trigger
A triggered rule or ability is one that activates automatically when a specific game condition is met. It must resolve during or immediately following the triggering condition. When multiple rules or abilities trigger simultaneously, the active player determines the order in which they resolve.
The Lucky Giant's Toe triggers on the result of a die roll:
Quote:
If you roll a 5 or 6 when an ability has you roll the die, this deals 1 damage to all Heroes and then you heal 2.
So in this case:

1.The Gambeson of Gambling interrupts the original ability that is dealing 1 damage.

2.Then, when the die roll is complete for the Gambeson, the Lucky Giant's Toe's ability is triggered. After the roll, but before the resulting ability of the roll is determined. (This is because, if the triggered ability were one that modified the roll, it would have to happen before the resulting ability was activated). The Toe does its damage and then its healing now. The Gambeson is not interrupting this ability, so it has no effect here. Other interrupts could be played, though.

3.Once the Toe is finished resolving, we return to the Gambeson, and determine the ability that occurs based on the die roll, and have that ability resolve.

4.Once the Gambeson is finished resolving, we return to the original ability that it interrupted and have it finish resolving.
So no, the Gambeson cannot prevent the damage that is being caused by the Toe's ability, because that damage is occurring before the Gambeson has a chance to activate that part of its ability.
Aleph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.