Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2011, 02:02 PM   #21
vitruvian
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ze'Manel Cunha View Post
No, you don't need Switchable for a power which isn't always on, that's just silly.
DR by default is always on.
vitruvian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 02:37 PM   #22
Langy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: CA
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

I agree with most of what people mentioned earlier, but I'd like to point out that you can't take a Vow to not do something you can't physically do. For example, I can't take 'Vow: Do Not Turn Invisible', and a man who has DR with 'Can't Wear Armor' can't take Vow: Don't Wear Armor.
Langy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 02:48 PM   #23
Wraithe
 
Wraithe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Shore-ish, MA
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Langy View Post
I agree with most of what people mentioned earlier, but I'd like to point out that you can't take a Vow to not do something you can't physically do. For example, I can't take 'Vow: Do Not Turn Invisible', and a man who has DR with 'Can't Wear Armor' can't take Vow: Don't Wear Armor.
I know it's quibbling, but of course, you CAN take such a vow, you just don't get any points for it. Although I might part with a -1 for a Delusion, were someone silly enough to try that with me. :)
Wraithe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 02:51 PM   #24
Anders
Banned
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Langy View Post
I agree with most of what people mentioned earlier, but I'd like to point out that you can't take a Vow to not do something you can't physically do. For example, I can't take 'Vow: Do Not Turn Invisible', and a man who has DR with 'Can't Wear Armor' can't take Vow: Don't Wear Armor.
DR is not the same as armor.
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 02:59 PM   #25
Langy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: CA
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asta Kask View Post
DR is not the same as armor.
...I fail to see what that has anything to do with what I just said. DR with the Cannot Wear Armor limitation means that you physically can not wear armor. Thus, you can't get any points for Vow: Cannot Wear Armor, because you can't do so already, just like someone without Innate Attack (Eye Lasers) can't get points for Vow: Never Use Eye Lasers.
Langy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 03:10 PM   #26
sir_pudding
Wielder of Smart Pants
 
sir_pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ventura CA
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Langy View Post
...I fail to see what that has anything to do with what I just said. DR with the Cannot Wear Armor limitation means that you physically can not wear armor. Thus, you can't get any points for Vow: Cannot Wear Armor, because you can't do so already, just like someone without Innate Attack (Eye Lasers) can't get points for Vow: Never Use Eye Lasers.
If you have Switchable DR (which is after all the actual topic of this thread) with CWA then I don't see why you can't have Never Wear Armor as a Vow. You don't always have DR, but you don't wear armor anyway. With pact if you do decide to wear armor (breaking your vow) you lose the ability to switch on the DR.
sir_pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 03:13 PM   #27
Humabout
 
Humabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by vicky_molokh View Post
+10% is the Kromm-approved enhancement for 'Oh, and my DR applies to eyes too'.
Oh, thanks, Vicky. That does make it cheaper, then.
__________________
Buy My Stuff!

Free Stuff:
Dungeon Action!
Totem Spirits

My Blog: Above the Flatline.
Humabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 03:15 PM   #28
Langy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: CA
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by sir_pudding View Post
If you have Switchable DR (which is after all the actual topic of this thread) with CWA then I don't see why you can't have Never Wear Armor as a Vow. You don't always have DR, but you don't wear armor anyway. With pact if you do decide to wear armor (breaking your vow) you lose the ability to switch on the DR.
Right, and I don't have a problem with that.
Langy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 05:27 PM   #29
Ze'Manel Cunha
 
Ze'Manel Cunha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitruvian View Post
DR by default is always on.
If you have a limitation on DR, or any other always on advantage, which shuts down the power in certain circumstance, then you don't need Switchable, that's the way limitations work with Always On powers.

Like you correctly said in a different thread:
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitruvian View Post
E.g., DR is normally always on, but if you take DR, Costs FP, it becomes switchable with one minute of use per expenditure of the FP. My understanding from the discussion of this in Basic was that (unless the ability has a special value for Switchable, like Magic Resistance) you didn't even need to take a Switchable enhancement.
To which Kromm replied:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kromm View Post
You are correct. Powers is pretty clear on this . . . disadvantageous forms of "switchability" don't necessitate Switchable.
Kromm also commented elsewhere that:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kromm View Post
Finally, you can take limitations that shut down or reduce the availability of your DR. These are most often such things as Accessibility and Uncontrollable. If you have a drawback like that, then you don't need Switchable as well.
We've had these discussions before, gotta love google search. *grin*
Ze'Manel Cunha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 06:33 PM   #30
sir_pudding
Wielder of Smart Pants
 
sir_pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ventura CA
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ze'Manel Cunha View Post
If you have a limitation on DR, or any other always on advantage, which shuts down the power in certain circumstance, then you don't need Switchable, that's the way limitations work with Always On powers.
In this case that would be Trigger: Nudity?
sir_pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advantage, celtic myth, force field, rules interpretation, switchable

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.