Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2011, 07:02 PM   #11
sir_pudding
Wielder of Smart Pants
 
sir_pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ventura CA
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony View Post
cannot wear armor, -40%; or anything else, -5%;
CWA already prevents you from wearing anything else; unless you have the Non-Protective clothing perk.
sir_pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 09:59 PM   #12
vitruvian
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Here's a thought - Cannot Wear Armor, -40%, Switchable, +10%. You've got the regular Cannot Wear Armor, in that you simply cannot or will not wear anything, but only when the DR is switched on. When it's switched off, you have no DR, and can wear whatever you want. Net -30%.
vitruvian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 12:22 AM   #13
jacobmuller
 
jacobmuller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Not in your time zone:D
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

I'd use forcefield, +20% instead of the heavily overpriced nictitating membrane.
But just a vow & pact saves so much brainpain maths

Okay, I'me wrong LOL
__________________
"Sanity is a bourgeois meme." Exegeek
PS sorry I'm a Parthian shootist: shiftwork + out of = not here when you are:/

Last edited by jacobmuller; 06-10-2011 at 12:17 AM.
jacobmuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 12:33 AM   #14
roguebfl
Dog of Lysdexics
 
roguebfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne FL, Formerly Wellington NZ
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacobmuller View Post
And use forcefield, +20% instead of the heavily overpriced nictitating membrane.
But just a vow & pact saves so much brainpain maths
At DR 6 niated membrane is Balances out.

DR 6 (Cannot Wear Armor, -40%, Switchable, +10%) [21]
DR 6 (Cannot Wear Armor, -40%, Switchable, +10%, Force Field +20%) [27]

Nictitating Membrane 6 (Only While DR On, -10%) [6]
__________________
Rogue the Bronze Firelizard
Gerald Grenier, Jr. Hail Eris!
Rogue's Weyr
roguebfl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 07:44 AM   #15
Humabout
 
Humabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacobmuller View Post
And use forcefield, +20% instead of the heavily overpriced nictitating membrane.
Isn't 20% of 5 = 1?
__________________
Buy My Stuff!

Free Stuff:
Dungeon Action!
Totem Spirits

My Blog: Above the Flatline.
Humabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 07:46 AM   #16
vitruvian
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Humabout View Post
Isn't 20% of 5 = 1?
Yes, and the cost of Nicitating Membrane can be discounted with the same limitations as the DR, meaning that unless you're using multiplicative modifiers, it's likely to be cheaper.
vitruvian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 07:56 AM   #17
Humabout
 
Humabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

True, so I'm not sure why someone would say that Nictitating Membrane is overpriced. It seems to me that it's actually cheaper and that Force Field costs more because it also protects the "owner's" equipment. Force Field neither seems to fit what the OP is looking for, nor does it provide terribly much benefit if the owner is stark naked and holding a spear.
__________________
Buy My Stuff!

Free Stuff:
Dungeon Action!
Totem Spirits

My Blog: Above the Flatline.
Humabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 08:15 AM   #18
vicky_molokh
GURPS FAQ Keeper
 
vicky_molokh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kyv, Ukraine
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

+10% is the Kromm-approved enhancement for 'Oh, and my DR applies to eyes too'.
__________________
Vicky 'Molokh', GURPS FAQ and uFAQ Keeper
The Eye of Eclipse Phase. A Discord server focusing on Roleplaying, Sci-Fi, Transhumanism, and discussion of other assorted topics, from tech to boardgames, from politics to philosophy.
vicky_molokh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 10:18 AM   #19
Wraithe
 
Wraithe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Shore-ish, MA
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Here's the version that I'm using in my Bronze/Early Iron-Age Campaign.

Spearman's Invulnerability (Requires Sidhe Blood Advantage):

You believe that you are protected in battle, as long as you do not wear any clothing. Before you begin to fight, you must remove all clothing, although you may wear torcs and (small) arm-rings. As soon as the battle starts, you make a Will roll to see whether you believe in your own invulnerability. If you succeed, you gain DR 6 to all hit locations. You must re-roll to maintain after taking any injury or after a failed Fright Check.

Damage Resistance 6 (Cannot Wear Armor -40%, Force Field +20%, Hardened 1 +20%, Requires Will Roll (To activate, when injured or after Fright Check) -0% [30]

Notes: I wrote the Sidhe Blood Advantage as a levelled "Unusual Background" at 10/level and just followed the guidelines in GURPS: Celtic Myth and required at least one level to take the above.

I considered it to be an "Aura" - so I gave it force field. Hardened, since there're no "chinks", and of course, CWA, since you can't wear clothing. :)
Requires (Attribute) says that you're supposed to roll every time it would act as a defense, so I decided to reduce it to a feature, and require the rolls only after damage penetrates or after Fright Check.
Wraithe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 01:40 PM   #20
Ze'Manel Cunha
 
Ze'Manel Cunha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Default Re: Double-dipping - Can't wear Armor and Vow

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitruvian View Post
Here's a thought - Cannot Wear Armor, -40%, Switchable, +10%. You've got the regular Cannot Wear Armor, in that you simply cannot or will not wear anything, but only when the DR is switched on. When it's switched off, you have no DR, and can wear whatever you want. Net -30%.
No, you don't need Switchable for a power which isn't always on, that's just silly.
Ze'Manel Cunha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advantage, celtic myth, force field, rules interpretation, switchable

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.