Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Other Munchkin Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2008, 06:21 PM   #1
milliken
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Munchkin Quest(ions)

Munchkin Quest was duly delivered to our door yesterday, and was greeted with gleeful cries from our eight-year-old resident munchkin, so of course we had to play it today -- pretty much *all* day. (Yes, this was only one game -- we did have to learn the rules, as well as eat a couple times in there....)

Needless to say, we managed to find assorted rules omissions, ambiguities, and the usual sheer, outright, munchkinly interpretations of the rules, and I figured to inflict them on people here in the hopes they might feed the FAQ-monster with them at some point:

1) Is there anything that keeps a character from leveling past 10? (My character was at 9, when he got a combat to which one of my unwontedly fiendish opponents added a Wandering Monster -- presto, +2 levels. Or is it?) The only place I could find in the rules that seemed to limit characters to a maximum of 10 was the sentence under "Level" on p.15 that states "Level ranges from 1 to 10." If levels above 10 are possible, then it opens up various other munchkinly questions like: "Can you go up a level *above* 10 using a Go Up a Level card? Or by spending 1000 gold or Item equivalents?" Pretty much everywhere else it simply states that you can't get *to* level 10 without killing something, but doesn't say anything about what happens if you'd gain a level *past* 10.

2) If you explore a new room and the inevitable monster appears, does that put you "in combat" at the instant the room is entered? when the monster is drawn? If neither, when? (This one become an issue because a drawn monster had the Scroll of Evil Energy added to it right after it was drawn, and then was baited out of the room by another player using a Sex Appeal card on herself. My interpretation was that the combat started when the monster was drawn, and thus the combat was ended for the purposes of the Scroll of Evil Energy when it moved out due to the Sex Appeal card, but the scroll can also have a more persistent effect if played out of combat, so the precise timing of "in combat" became an issue for debate.)

3) If you use the d10 power of a class, and then discard the class and play a new one, can you use the d10 power of the new class right away? (In the middle of a combat, I had a Wizard out, switched to a Cleric to rid myself of an annoying Curse just played on me, then played down another Wizard to replace the Cleric, and then used the Wizard's d10 power for the combat I was in the middle of.) This seems to fall into the "suitably munchkin-y" category of rules interpretation....

---Walter

Last edited by milliken; 11-09-2008 at 06:24 PM.
milliken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 06:37 PM   #2
Progmode
 
Progmode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi
Default Re: Munchkin Quest(ions)

Quote:
Originally Posted by milliken
1) Is there anything that keeps a character from leveling past 10? (My character was at 9, when he got a combat to which one of my unwontedly fiendish opponents added a Wandering Monster -- presto, +2 levels. Or is it?) The only place I could find in the rules that seemed to limit characters to a maximum of 10 was the sentence under "Level" on p.15 that states "Level ranges from 1 to 10." If levels above 10 are possible, then it opens up various other munchkinly questions like: "Can you go up a level *above* 10 using a Go Up a Level card? Or by spending 1000 gold or Item equivalents?" Pretty much everywhere else it simply states that you can't get *to* level 10 without killing something, but doesn't say anything about what happens if you'd gain a level *past* 10.
You've got your answer. "Level ranges from 1 to 10." There is no ambiguity here. Plus the fact that each level counter tops out at 10 should tell you something. ;-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by milliken
2) If you explore a new room and the inevitable monster appears, does that put you "in combat" at the instant the room is entered? when the monster is drawn? If neither, when? (This one become an issue because a drawn monster had the Scroll of Evil Energy added to it right after it was drawn, and then was baited out of the room by another player using a Sex Appeal card on herself. My interpretation was that the combat started when the monster was drawn, and thus the combat was ended for the purposes of the Scroll of Evil Energy when it moved out due to the Sex Appeal card, but the scroll can also have a more persistent effect if played out of combat, so the precise timing of "in combat" became an issue for debate.)
As I interpret it, Exploring a new room (see pg 6 of the rules) is one simultaneous game event hindered by the fact that real people need time to make it all happen. I'd say combat starts as soon as you enter the newly explored room, since new rooms always have a monster.

Quote:
Originally Posted by milliken
3) If you use the d10 power of a class, and then discard the class and play a new one, can you use the d10 power of the new class right away? (In the middle of a combat, I had a Wizard out, switched to a Cleric to rid myself of an annoying Curse just played on me, then played down another Wizard to replace the Cleric, and then used the Wizard's d10 power for the combat I was in the middle of.) This seems to fall into the "suitably munchkin-y" category of rules interpretation....
This is fine. You could use two d10 powers if you were a Super Munchkin. You can't just use the same d10 power more than once if it says so (and some, if not all, do). So, you can't play a Warrior card, use the d10 ability, discard the Warrior, play another Warrior card, and use the d10 ability again. But two different d10 powers is just fine.
__________________
"Someone is, or is thinking about, talking to someone else about possibly doing something sometime in the future." - MunchkinMan
Progmode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:31 PM   #3
mib2932
 
mib2932's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Isanti, MN
Default Re: Munchkin Quest(ions)

Quote:
Originally Posted by milliken
2) If you explore a new room and the inevitable monster appears, does that put you "in combat" at the instant the room is entered? when the monster is drawn? If neither, when?
The rules say:

Quote:
3. Meanwhile, you may draw a DxM, as your reward for exploring,
and decide if you want to use it now.
4. Read the special rules printed on the room. Some will apply as soon
as you enter, and some will affect combat. And you’re now in combat,
because . . .
I read that as saying you can play the card you draw, but otherwise, you are immediately in combat (ie, no cards can be played once you've entered the room - used your movement points - unless they can be played in combat).
mib2932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 06:55 AM   #4
philreed
Chief Executive Officer
 
philreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Munchkin Quest(ions)

Quote:
Originally Posted by milliken
The only place I could find in the rules that seemed to limit characters to a maximum of 10 was the sentence under "Level" on p.15 that states "Level ranges from 1 to 10."
What in the rules is unclear about levels? Not once does it discuss level 11 and the level counter only displays levels 1-10. Nowhere does it imply that levels above 10 are allowed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by milliken
2) If you explore a new room and the inevitable monster appears, does that put you "in combat" at the instant the room is entered?
Yes. P. 6 is very clear at which step you are "in combat." You're in combat as soon as the room and links are placed, before the monster is drawn.

Quote:
Originally Posted by milliken
3) If you use the d10 power of a class, and then discard the class and play a new one, can you use the d10 power of the new class right away?
Thief, Warrior, and Wizard all say very clearly: "You may make one attempt per combat," while the Cleric's card says: "You may make one attempt on each munchkin's turn." If you play a new class card, and have not used that ability yet, then you may do so. The limitation is quite clearly on each individual d10 power and not on d10 powers as a whole.

Last edited by philreed; 11-10-2008 at 07:37 AM.
philreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 03:37 PM   #5
O'Keefe
 
O'Keefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Re: Munchkin Quest(ions)

Quote:
Originally Posted by milliken
1) Is there anything that keeps a character from leveling past 10? (My character was at 9, when he got a combat to which one of my unwontedly fiendish opponents added a Wandering Monster -- presto, +2 levels. Or is it?) The only place I could find in the rules that seemed to limit characters to a maximum of 10 was the sentence under "Level" on p.15 that states "Level ranges from 1 to 10." If levels above 10 are possible, then it opens up various other munchkinly questions like: "Can you go up a level *above* 10 using a Go Up a Level card? Or by spending 1000 gold or Item equivalents?" Pretty much everywhere else it simply states that you can't get *to* level 10 without killing something, but doesn't say anything about what happens if you'd gain a level *past* 10.
The Glossary entry for Level also says, "You cannot advance past Level 10."
__________________
Will Schoonover
Assistant Developer...among other things
Steve Jackson Games
will@sjgames.com
O'Keefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 05:14 PM   #6
milliken
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Munchkin Quest(ions)

Quote:
Originally Posted by O'Keefe
The Glossary entry for Level also says, "You cannot advance past Level 10."
Ah, missed that -- didn't read the Glossary, and didn't think to look there. (Six hours of Munchkin Quest with an eight-year-old will do that to you...)
milliken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 05:22 PM   #7
milliken
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Munchkin Quest(ions)

Quote:
Originally Posted by philreed
What in the rules is unclear about levels? Not once does it discuss level 11 and the level counter only displays levels 1-10. Nowhere does it imply that levels above 10 are allowed.
However, the game does state explicitly that you can't go below level 1 in at least one or two places. And also nowhere does it state you *don't* advance a level on a normal monster kill, if you happen to be at 10. Except, apparently, in the Glossary. Yes, the level counter is a distinct clue, and the entry in the character section is pretty explicit, but it's not mentioned in the areas where levelling is discussed, which is where I was looking for it.

On the other hand, the Glossary is probably a good place for it; I just didn't think to look there at the time. (After reading the rest of the rulebook with an eight-year-old wanting to start the game, reading a page and half of dense text wasn't going to be possible....)

---Walter
milliken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.