Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2021, 02:41 AM   #11
vvnngyn
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Default Re: Magnificent Hat and Clerical Errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
Unfortunately, the rules don't support that. A Curse must have a victim, and in the case of this specific Curse, the victim must be the player in combat, if combat is currently occurring. If the player in combat has the Tinfoil Hat, then the Curse can't be played at that time...
I have to disagree. Even if you are a Munchkin Rep.

The “Magnificent Hat” card specifically states, “Any curse you draw, or that someone plays on you, is reflected randomly. Each other player rolls a die; the low roller is cursed.” Let’s call the person equipped with this card Player A.

The victim is the low roller and is now cursed. Let’s call them player B.

The “Curse! Clerical Error” card specifically states “The most recent monster in the discard pile is re-animated as Undead and attacks you. If this curse is used during combat, the re-animated monster joins the other monster(s).”

So let’s play out this scenario: Player A is fighting a monster and is in combat. Player X drops the card on Player A. It gets reflected. Low roller (Player B) is now cursed. The curse HAS a victim (Player B). Hypothetically, the “Clerical Error” card would only affect Player B if there is no monster in play, which means they are only fighting that ONE re-animated monster because it states it “attacks YOU” (the player who is cursed, Player B). Because there is a monster in combat with Player A, the re-animated monster joins the other monster and it will affect Player A because they were originally in combat. They are NOT cursed and the hat has no power now. Overall, the curse CAN be played and only reflected onto another player, but the monster is still added to attack Player A. The “Magnificent Hat” does NOT say the curse cannot be played.

Correct me if I’m wrong.
vvnngyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.