Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS > GURPS Character Assistant

Old 12-09-2017, 11:05 AM   #1
Kesendeja

Default Never coded before, Help

As the title says, I've never coded before, but I a racial template for my upcoming game. Is there a tutorial for using the template maker somewhere, my first attempts with it have proven disastrous.

I think the problem is that I have modifiers to some of the traits, but I can't seem to get them to show up, so its costing too much.
Kesendeja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 11:24 AM   #2
Armin
GCA Prime

Default Re: Never coded before, Help

The best way to create racial templates is to create a new character, add just the race stuff to it, and then use Save As..., and in the Save File As dialog pick "Template within Data File" in the bottom drop-down list.

That will call up a dialog that allows you to set some other options, and then will save the character to a GDF file in racial template format. Load that GDF, and your race should be ready to rock.

(If you save the character GDF to the /characters/ folder, you may also want to move it to the /data files/ folder to make it easier to find and remember.)
Old 12-09-2017, 04:37 PM   #3
Kesendeja

I just tried that, but it wouldn't let me add the selections. The template is set up to have 60 pts spent between several attributes, and another 12 between enhanced senses.
Old 12-09-2017, 11:53 PM   #4
Armin
GCA Prime

Ah, yeah, I'm sorry about that. That's not a standard racial template, which is usually just a fixed set of traits. So, no, Save As won't work for you here.

Unfortunately, if you also want to require specific modifiers be applied to certain traits, then the Template Builder won't work for you either. It doesn't support pre-selected modifiers on the traits in that fashion.