Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 06-19-2018, 05:54 AM   #1
Devil_Dante

Default techical grappling, bind weapon and disarming

So, my PC wants to create some nasty combinations of attacks. As Italian fencer, he fights with rapier and main-gauche. I was looking the bind weapon from "flos duellatorum" (i' v studied a little bit of 1200 medieval fence, so i am not experienced with 1600 fence school), and i thought to create a duelist with "italian school" style (MA p156). Now, i use technical grapplling as standard grappling rule.

My purpose is to use bind weapon in order to disarm my opponent and open his defenses, following with some attacks to the neck or vitals, or simply show my talents disarming him and threat his vitals.

From a mechanical view:
1) i wants to bind weapon as a parry (in my opponent round), to inflict CP to his weapon. Because a rapier is a fencing weapon i have no penalty: my parry skills is 1/2 bind weapon + 3
2) in my round i want to disarm him, with a instant disarm (TG p13). I have CP on his weapon that i can use. Now, i suppose i have to attack his weapon again (without any penalties) and IF he doesn't defend, we can do a quick contest (disarming vs retail weapon). If i win, he's disarmed.

Two questions here:
A)But because i have already parried his weapon, i thought i don't need to attack his weapon, but only need to roll the quick contest. Am i wrong?
B)if i inflict the CP to make his weapon "unready", i suppose he can't try to parry, because both of our weapons are tied. So he can only dodge this attack (he can't even block i guess). If, with bind weapon, i reduce his Grip CP to 0, he is disarmed. Right or wrong?

3)My combination would be: disarming(weapon) + rapier (thrust/vitals)
Is it a legal combinations?

Thanks for answers