Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 12-30-2019, 05:21 PM   #8
Shostak's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New England
Default Re: What does "when worn" mean?

Originally Posted by FireHorse View Post
The text for Darkness says:

"Extinguishes all artificial lights (including Light spells) within its range."
"Torches, lights, etc., come back to life when the spell ends."
Note that while it specifically mentions the Light spell, it does not mention the Fire spell. Go with the literal meaning: extinguish light not flame.

However, since the spell is named "Darkness", one might also argue (and I certainly would, if I were the GM having this argument with a player) that the clear intention of the spell was to target light, not combustion and that this is just another example of unclear text that needs to be rewritten and clarified in future editions.
Exactly. This eliminates the extra effect of suppressing fire.
Shostak is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.