Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2021, 08:28 AM   #1
DemiBenson
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, Hub of the Universe!
Default Two Shields

What are the rules for dual-wielding shields? Assume these shields have bosses, spikes, razor edges, and anything else needed to perform well as weapons.

For two-handed species, at a first guess, I’d give passive Defense Bonus equal to largest, and another +1 if they are the same size. Blocks get the full DB of each shield.

Thoughts?

Now, what about 4-handed species? Anything different when dual-shielding?
How about when quad-shielding?
__________________
Demi Benson
DemiBenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 08:33 AM   #2
Anders
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Default Re: Two Shields

The only rule I would add is that you can't get more than DB 3 from all combined shields. Fully covered is fully covered, and that's DB 3.
__________________
"Is this not your natural state? It's the unspoken truth of humanity, that you crave subjugation. The bright lure of freedom diminishes your life's joy in a mad scramble for power, for identity. You were made to be ruled." - my cats
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 08:40 AM   #3
Gumby Bush
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CT
Default Re: Two Shields

Per RAW, the only benefit is covering another side hex.

I might go with:
DB = largest + sum(applicable to that hex)/5
A peshkali with 6 large (DB 3) shields would get DB 3 + (5*3)/5 = DB 6.

But Anders is right that it should probably max out at 3.

You won't need OHWT, since shields are commonly used in the off hand, so just the DWA technique for dual shield bashes, etc.,

They are heavy so you're not likely to be too agile.

You do get an extra block, though. Per RAW, it's just one per shield, but I think MA has rules to make it -5 per block after the first with the same shield. Halve that for WM (Shield) I'd guess.
__________________
Formerly known as fighting_gumby.
Gumby Bush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 08:44 AM   #4
DemiBenson
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, Hub of the Universe!
Default Re: Two Shields

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anders View Post
The only rule I would add is that you can't get more than DB 3 from all combined shields. Fully covered is fully covered, and that's DB 3.
I wouldn’t say that a DB3 shield covers your entire body - to resist horizontal wide-area attacks (like dragon breath), you need to crouch and hunker behind your shield.
__________________
Demi Benson
DemiBenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 08:45 AM   #5
ericthered
Hero of Democracy
 
ericthered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far from the ocean
Default Re: Two Shields

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gumby Bush View Post
Per RAW, the only benefit is covering another side hex.

What page and book is that, if you don't mind me asking?
__________________
Be helpful, not pedantic

Worlds Beyond Earth -- my blog

Check out the PbP forum! If you don't see a game you'd like, ask me about making one!
ericthered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 08:45 AM   #6
Tomsdad
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brighton
Default Re: Two Shields

I think it's been stated the DBs don't add.

I'd let you block with each shield once without a incurring a multiple block penalty. i.e. the multiple block penalties would track with each sheild separately

Practically speaking shields don't just hang at your side but actually move about a lot so I could see 2 medium or larger shields would get in each other's way (so maybe apply the DB penalty that everyone takes the shield wall perk to negate). I think at best you'd end up just overlapping your medium+ shields a lot.

2 medium or larger shields could get pretty heavy.

For attacking you could use the duel wielding rules
__________________
Grand High* Poobah of the Cult of Stat Normalisation.
*not too high of course
Tomsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 08:53 AM   #7
Dr. Beckenstein
 
Dr. Beckenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Default Re: Two Shields

Quote:
Originally Posted by DemiBenson View Post
What are the rules for dual-wielding shields? Assume these shields have bosses, spikes, razor edges, and anything else needed to perform well as weapons.
But would they still count as "only" shields?

As GM, I would demand that a player would take a special melee weapon skill for them.
__________________
""The origin of everything good is due to games." - Friedrich August Wilhelm Froebel, creator of the kindergarten.
Dr. Beckenstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 08:57 AM   #8
Anders
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Default Re: Two Shields

No, the Shield skill counts for attacks with shields per RAW. In fact, they're superior weapons for very, very strong characters since they do not have a Min ST and thus the x3 rules does not apply. Fear the giant who has picked up a human-sized shield with a sharp edge - it does sw-2 cutting with no upper limit.
__________________
"Is this not your natural state? It's the unspoken truth of humanity, that you crave subjugation. The bright lure of freedom diminishes your life's joy in a mad scramble for power, for identity. You were made to be ruled." - my cats
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 09:00 AM   #9
Kromm
GURPS Line Editor
 
Kromm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montréal, Québec
Default Re: Two Shields

This is discussed in "The Shield-Bearer" (Pyramid #3/118, pp. 4-9); see Two-Shield Fighting, p. 6. While strictly speaking for the Dungeon Fantasy Roleplaying Game, the logic is transferable to GURPS. There's a lot there, but briefly: Use only the best applicable, available DB – but this benefits even blocks with a second shield of lower DB.

Think about that last part this way: Yes, two shields cover more of your body than one, but they get in the way of one another and generally block two completely different lines of attack. I suppose you could scrunch them up together to hide from just one foe . . . that sounds like All-Out Defense (Increased Block) for +2 to Block or, more interestingly, All-Out Defense (Double Defense) allowing you to block once and, if that fails, block again with the other shield, both blocks using the best DB.
__________________
Sean "Dr. Kromm" Punch <kromm@sjgames.com>
GURPS Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games
My LiveJournal [Just GURPS News][Just The Company]
Kromm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 09:00 AM   #10
DemiBenson
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, Hub of the Universe!
Default Re: Two Shields

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gumby Bush View Post
Per RAW, the only benefit is covering another side hex.

I might go with:
DB = largest + sum(applicable to that hex)/5
A peshkali with 6 large (DB 3) shields would get DB 3 + (5*3)/5 = DB 6.
I like this. Makes it so a peshkali with 6 DB0 bucklers gets nothing extra. Also, a peshkali with 6 large shields should be incredibly well covered.
__________________
Demi Benson
DemiBenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
shields

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.