Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2021, 04:59 AM   #1
PBarone714
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Default Fencer two weapons question - 2 sabers?

Can a fencer get the “two weapons” abilities (e.g. an attack and a 2 hit parry) if he uses two sabers? The book says he must use two rapiers or a rapier and a main-gauche, but the fencing Talent says a saber is also a fencing weapon.

Thanks,
Paolo
PBarone714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 06:42 AM   #2
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Fencer two weapons question - 2 sabers?

The restriction goes away for a Master Fencer.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 08:57 AM   #3
TippetsTX
 
TippetsTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: North Texas
Default Re: Fencer two weapons question - 2 sabers?

While the text may not state this outright, the intent seems clear to me... the two-weapon ability built into the FENCING talents is limited to one primary long blade (rapier or saber) and a short off-hand blade (main gauche only, though I would probably allow a long dagger or cloak as well).

If you want to wield two weapons of equal size and weight (and other combinations) simultaneously, you need to purchase the TWO-WEAPONS talent.
__________________
“No matter how subtle the wizard, a knife between the shoulder blades will seriously cramp his style.” -Vladimir Taltos

Last edited by TippetsTX; 01-30-2021 at 10:12 AM.
TippetsTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 09:47 AM   #4
Shostak
 
Shostak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New England
Default Re: Fencer two weapons question - 2 sabers?

Two sabers is not included in the list of double-weapon techniques taught to fencers found in the description of the Two Weapons talent(ITL 41), so Fencing does not allow one to use two sabers.
Shostak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 10:01 AM   #5
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Fencer two weapons question - 2 sabers?

Indeed; this is a case where the rules are specific enough to make a clear ruling, but you have to know all of the relevant rules passages - the Fencing talent doesn't give you enough information to know how it works, exactly, but Two Weapons completes the explanation.
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 10:29 AM   #6
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Fencer two weapons question - 2 sabers?

BTW, does anybody know how the Main Gauche works, other than "Like a small shield, it carries a -1 DX penalty."

If you use an off-hand parry does it stop hits from a two-handed sword?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 11:11 AM   #7
TippetsTX
 
TippetsTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: North Texas
Default Re: Fencer two weapons question - 2 sabers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
BTW, does anybody know how the Main Gauche works, other than "Like a small shield, it carries a -1 DX penalty."

If you use an off-hand parry does it stop hits from a two-handed sword?
I tend to visualize the main gauche with a large basket or similar hand protection, so yes.
__________________
“No matter how subtle the wizard, a knife between the shoulder blades will seriously cramp his style.” -Vladimir Taltos
TippetsTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 11:34 AM   #8
DouglasCole
Doctor of GURPS Ballistics
 
DouglasCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Burnsville, MN
Default Re: Fencer two weapons question - 2 sabers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TippetsTX View Post
I tend to visualize the main gauche with a large basket or similar hand protection, so yes.
And even if it's just a regular left hand dagger with a large crossguard...it stops ONE HIT. So typical 2H sword blow is 9.5 hits, less one for the dagger, making "parry the 2H sword blow" as poor a tactic as one could hope for.
__________________
Gaming Ballistic, LLC
DouglasCole is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 01:00 PM   #9
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Fencer two weapons question - 2 sabers?

Also, the quoted rule is in the rule book but is wrong in a most unfortunately misleading way: A Main Gauche carries a -1 DX penalty (at least when all of its special qualities are used) but a small shield does not. This is one of several confusing passages that led to confusion about how a MG works.
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fencing, parrying

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.