Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2011, 06:16 PM   #1
zoncxs
 
zoncxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: earth....I think.
Default What is a turn???????

soooo

Turn a: red attacks reach 1 weapon (blue slips in for defense)
Turn a: blue waits

Turn b: red steps and attacks, blue wait triggers and steps with and attacks also. red defends by acrobatic retreating and blue by slipping in.
Turn b: blue attacks.

can Red do another acrobatic Retreat?

to my knowledge, no. since red did so on his turn and it has yet to go back to being his turn. though the bonus from retreating still counts, the acrobatic part and moving away part does not.

am I wrong?
zoncxs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 06:19 PM   #2
David Johnston2
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default Re: What is a turn???????

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoncxs View Post
soooo

Turn a: red attacks reach 1 weapon (blue slips in for defense)
Turn a: blue waits

Turn b: red steps and attacks, blue wait triggers and steps with and attacks also. red defends by acrobatic retreating and blue by slipping in.
Turn b: blue attacks.

can Red do another acrobatic Retreat?
?
Red doesn't have to. Red is doing acrobatics until _Red's_ next turn. Events happen simultaneously. Your turn does not end when another character takes their turn.
David Johnston2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 06:24 PM   #3
zoncxs
 
zoncxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: earth....I think.
Default Re: What is a turn???????

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Johnston2 View Post
Red doesn't have to. Red is doing acrobatics until _Red's_ next turn. Events happen simultaneously. Your turn does not end when another character takes their turn.
acrobatic dodge states you can only use it once for a defense and once for you turn

Retreating dodge states you can only do so once per turn.

with that, red cannot move again right?
zoncxs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 06:29 PM   #4
Phantasm
 
Phantasm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: On the road again...
Default Re: What is a turn???????

Look at it this way:

Start:
Red Attacks with Reach 1 weapon.

Halfway into the attack, Blue, who was Doing Nothing as Red Attacks, declares a Wait, to be triggered by Red's *next* Attack.

Red Attacks again, triggering Blue's Wait. Red performs an Acrobatic Dodge to avoid Blue's Attack.

Halfway through the Acrobatic Dodge, Blue Attacks again. Red is still performing his Acrobatic Dodge, so the bonus from this still applies.

Now it's Red's turn to do something.

End of situation.
__________________
"Life ... is an Oreo cookie." - J'onn J'onzz, 1991

"But mom, I don't wanna go back in the dungeon!"

The GURPS Marvel Universe Reboot Project A-G, N-Z, and S-Z, and its not-a-wiki-really web adaptation.
Ranoc, a Muskets-and-Magery Renaissance Fantasy Setting
Phantasm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 06:34 PM   #5
David Johnston2
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default Re: What is a turn???????

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoncxs View Post
acrobatic dodge states you can only use it once for a defense and once for you turn

Retreating dodge states you can only do so once per turn.

with that, red cannot move again right?
Right. While you are doing acrobatics for the whole turn the dodge bonus is only for one dodge roll,and you only get to move once.
David Johnston2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 06:37 PM   #6
zoncxs
 
zoncxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: earth....I think.
Default Re: What is a turn???????

Acrobatic Dodge
If you have put at least one point
into the Acrobatics skill, you can try a
“fancy” dodge once during your turn.

... On a success, you
get +2 to that Dodge roll
. On a failure,
you get -2.
You can combine this option with a
retreat (see Retreat, p. 377).

according to that, the bonus for acrobatic dodge applies to only 1 defense against 1 attack.

the retreat applies to all attacks made by the same foe.

so for the first attack red got +5 to dodge.

on the second it was +3 from it still being the same turn. and he cannot move a further yard.
zoncxs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 09:50 PM   #7
Ze'Manel Cunha
 
Ze'Manel Cunha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Default Re: What is a turn???????

Blue's first attack occurs before Red's second attack, Blue's second attack occurs after Red's second attack.

Red gets to acrobatically dodge both of Blue's attacks which occur on two different turns.
Ze'Manel Cunha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 10:18 PM   #8
ericbsmith
 
ericbsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA. Near the river Styx in the 5th Circle.
Default Re: What is a turn???????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ze'Manel Cunha View Post
Blue's first attack occurs before Red's second attack, Blue's second attack occurs after Red's second attack.

Red gets to acrobatically dodge both of Blue's attacks which occur on two different turns.
Disagree. Red starts his Second turn and Steps. At that point Blue interrupts with his Wait and Attacks, Red continues his Second Turn, then Blue takes his 2nd Turn. The entirety of events happens during Red's Second Turn, he gets only one Acrobatic Dodge and one Retreat during a single one of his turns (though, as others noted, a Retreat applies to all defenses made against the same foe, so would apply to both of Blue's attacks).
__________________
Eric B. Smith GURPS Data File Coordinator
GURPSLand
I shall pull the pin from this healing grenade and...
Kaboom-baya.
ericbsmith is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 10:24 PM   #9
Ze'Manel Cunha
 
Ze'Manel Cunha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Default Re: What is a turn???????

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericbsmith View Post
Disagree. Red starts his Second turn and Steps. At that point Blue interrupts with his Wait and Attacks, Red continues his Second Turn, then Blue takes his 2nd Turn. The entirety of events happens during Red's Second Turn, he gets only one Acrobatic Dodge and one Retreat (though, as others noted, a Retreat applies to all attacks from the same foe, so would apply to both of Blue's attacks).
Didn't we hash this out* just a couple of weeks ago?

You're messing up Red's turn and you'd be giving Blue the advantage of attacking Red twice on Red's turn, meaning Red would suffer multiple parry penalties, reduced dodge, etc.

*You can probably find that thread faster than me since I'm not on a computer right now.
Ze'Manel Cunha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 10:41 PM   #10
ericbsmith
 
ericbsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA. Near the river Styx in the 5th Circle.
Default Re: What is a turn???????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ze'Manel Cunha View Post
Didn't we hash this out* just a couple of weeks ago?
Months, I should think.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ze'Manel Cunha View Post
You're messing up Red's turn and you'd be giving Blue the advantage of attacking Red twice on Red's turn, meaning Red would suffer multiple parry penalties, reduced dodge, etc.

*You can probably find that thread faster than me since I'm not on a computer right now.
And ISTR the final resolution of that thread was that one of the advantages of taking a Wait, and risking not getting to attack at all, was that in some circumstances you did get to attack twice during a single one of your opponents turns, but under no circumstances could the events be looked at as you attacking twice during one of your own turns. IOW each or your attacks happens during a separate one of your own turns, even if they happen to be resolved during a single one of your opponents turns, causing your opponent penalties.
__________________
Eric B. Smith GURPS Data File Coordinator
GURPSLand
I shall pull the pin from this healing grenade and...
Kaboom-baya.
ericbsmith is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
combat round, combat rules, wait

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.