Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2013, 09:23 PM   #1
jradd09
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Not necessarily new but..

I've been playing Munchkin to where you can only play gear or trade/sell at the beginning of your turn..

Have I been playing severely incorrectly?

I just doesn't seem fair to say, get 3 treasures and still have to discard 3 cards, but "oh, I'll just sell them."

At any rate, this is how I'll probably continue playing, but I was just wondering..


EDIT: Read around.. I have been but meh.. I'll figure something out.

Last edited by jradd09; 01-10-2013 at 09:44 PM.
jradd09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:53 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Not necessarily new but..

I'm a bit unsure from your edit whether you got the right idea or not. You certainly can do any of the things you listed in the time between the Combat and Charity phases.

Anything that says it can be done at any time during your turn can be done between collecting the spoils of combat and giving Charity. This covers pretty much everything in the game. Selling Items, putting Items into play, trading in-play Items with other players, playing or discarding Race or Class cards, cursing people, playing GUALs and many more actions are available to you.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 04:49 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Not necessarily new but..

Also, you can put any Item into play, even if you can't use it. The only exception is that you may, normally, only have one Big Item in play.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 08:54 AM   #4
jradd09
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: Not necessarily new but..

No I got all that.
It's just that it seemed a lot more fair to only be able to do those things at the beginning of your turn.
Since you have to give charity.

But yeah, I got it.

Thanks.
jradd09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 09:47 AM   #5
StormCrow42
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Concord, NC
Default Re: Not necessarily new but..

Charity is meant to keep you from hording cards in your hand, not to make it difficult to play the cards you do get. In many cases, I've gone entire games without anyone actually needing to give charity. OTOH, that has left them needing to leave their one-shot items exposed on the table where the other players know they have them.
__________________
Scott K. Ellis
StormCrow42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.