Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Closed Thread

Old 06-22-2018, 10:46 PM   #1
artichoke

Default Social Engineering's "Influencing PCs" box, pg. 32

I am just getting into GURPs and this jumped out at me today. It seems to have some issues. I am coming from outside of the framework of being knowledgeable about GURPs but that can be positive, not just negative, in terms of perspective. That said, I am not, at all, a fluent expert in the rules and expectations — so it's possible that I'm missing something. (The bit I wrote about the expectations regarding PvP is the most likely issue with my revision — I assume.)

1) Is PvP acceptable in the campaign and, if so, to what degree? Active mind control influences from one PC to another are PvP. Passive influences are more debatable.

2) Is PvP-lite handled differently than PC vs. NPC contests of will and such.

3) Do players really get a time machine to go back and defy mind control things like Influence, just because the outcome doesn't suit their fancy? If so, that seems to be a massive nerfing of one type of control (mind) versus others (physical, like violence). Not only is it a time machine (Player hears X is happening and player says "No, that did not happen, this did instead"), it breaks Rule 0, by having the player, not the GM, determine the environment. A PC is part of the environment, acting within it. Players shouldn't be able to superimpose themselves. They need to play the character, not themselves. If the PC is weak to mind control in a circumstance then they need to just deal with it, not protest — and certainly not revise the game world on the fly as if they're the GM.