Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > Roleplaying in General

Old 06-28-2009, 10:15 PM   #1
Jetman123

Default Stupid and funny stories in general

D&D, GURPS, munchkin, shadowrun, the system doesn't matter.

TPK, miscellanious acts of stupidity, miscommunications, funny misunderstandings of the rules, groupthink, nor does the type matter.

Post any story you think might give others a laugh. Something stupid or really funny you or your players have done.

Generally the groups I play with have been pretty good with separating IC and OOC knowledge and doing reasonable things, so I have a lack of this. Then again, I'm a newbie DM. (I like to think I keep my players entertained, but I'm too modest to say that. ;)) So perhaps I merely don't have the experience.

However, I have one experience here that might qualify.

One time I was running a two man d20 modern game, and since they were both relatively new to the system I ran them through an IC "training course" so they could get the idea of what they could and could not do, what tools were available to them and how they could be used (Guns, simple explosive charges for door breaching, some basic spy equipment), and finally, a treat, a heavy weapons range so they could see what serious bad boys Department 7 had in store for them if they needed some heavy firepower. (In retrospect, perhaps this was a mistake.)

So I start with a M2HB .50 BMG heavy machine gun, and have them punch holes in an old wrecked armored car. (One of the characters nearly wet his pants.) Then we move on to a Milkor Multiple Grenade Launcher. And finally, they got to fire either a Carl Gustav or an AT4 (I can't remember, my memory is foggy) at a tank pop-up.