Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2022, 08:49 AM   #1
crywalt
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Default Munchkin Batman Accomplices Question

We just got our Kickstarter copy of Munchkin Batman and of course my kid demanded we play just about immediately. So far it's plenty fun -- just different enough from regular Munchkin to make you think, but similar enough it's not like learning a whole new game.

The only problem I have with it is, it's too new! :) I'm used to being able to answer any question with a quick search of the Munchkin forums.

So here's my question: Do you have to hold Accomplices in your hand or can they be put down on the table? Unlike Hirelings they're not Items. The rules don't say anything at all about where Accomplices can be, only that they can be played at any time.

I ask because there are SO MANY Accomplices, but with the 5-card hand limit, it's really impossible to hold on to too many. But it's not clear they can be placed on the table.
crywalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2022, 11:59 AM   #2
crywalt
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Default Re: Munchkin Batman Accomplices Question

I find the instructions under Treasures state that "any Treasure card may be played to the table as soon as you get it", so I guess that includes Accomplices.

I hope I've got that right.
crywalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 09:30 AM   #3
GT Quigley
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default Re: Munchkin Batman Accomplices Question

I have the same question about the accomplices. I think Crywalt is correct, though. Accomplices fall somewhere between sidekicks/hirelings and one-shots. No value so they canít be stolen, but apparently no limit on the number that can be played. Also the instructions donít say the canít be played on the table.
GT Quigley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 10:49 AM   #4
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Munchkin Batman Accomplices Question

The rules say that Accomplices can be played at any time.
Once they are used in a combat, you would roll to see if you discard them or not.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 02:17 PM   #5
crywalt
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Default Re: Munchkin Batman Accomplices Question

I was surprised to find that the rules about Treasures is in the original Munchkin, which I thought I knew pretty well. I thought for some time that only Items could be played to the table -- anything with a Value (including of course No Value). And race and class cards, plus Super Munchkin and Cheat and suchlike. But in fact the rules state that any Treasure can be played to the table. Some Treasure cards (like Go Up A Level) take effect immediately and thus never stay on the table, but others apparently can be stashed there until you use them. There aren't too many cards like that in regular Munchkin but in Munchkin Batman there are the Accomplice cards.
crywalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2022, 11:20 AM   #6
Devin Lewis
Munchkin Associate Dev
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: Munchkin Batman Accomplices Question

Accomplices must stay in your hand. When you successfully roll to get them back, they go back into your hand. It would be a bit too much if you could just spread them all out on the table.

An Item is a card with a Gold Piece value or the words 'No Value' in the Gold Piece spot.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin CCG Designer, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2022, 12:39 PM   #7
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Munchkin Batman Accomplices Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devin Lewis View Post
Accomplices must stay in your hand.
Then why do the Accomplices rules state:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rules
Accomplices may be played at any time, on any turn.
It would make more sense if it said they could be played into any combat, instead of "any time" like the curses and GUALs
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2022, 03:13 PM   #8
Devin Lewis
Munchkin Associate Dev
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: Munchkin Batman Accomplices Question

Because they can be played by any player into any combat on any side. But they are not Items and cannot be played to the table. I may update the rules if we reprint this set if it keeps coming up as an issue.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin CCG Designer, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2022, 03:18 PM   #9
Devin Lewis
Munchkin Associate Dev
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: Munchkin Batman Accomplices Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by crywalt View Post
But in fact the rules state that any Treasure can be played to the table. Some Treasure cards (like Go Up A Level) take effect immediately and thus never stay on the table, but others apparently can be stashed there until you use them.
The meaning is that you can play any Treasure cards as soon as you get them. That does not mean that you can put them into your tableau.
For instance, if I get a card that lets me draw more treasures, I can play it immediately. That doesn't mean I can put it on the table to use later, that would defeat the point of having a hand and hand limits. It just means, if it's a treasure card that can be played, you can play it when you get it. You don't necessarily have to wait until your turn.

The only cards you can put on the table are Items or cards that say otherwise.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin CCG Designer, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.