Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2019, 08:28 AM   #1
Tywyll
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Default Diengaging by Forcing Retreat

Say you are engaged to two figures and then are able to force one to retreat, normally allowing you to follow them. Are you allowed to do this if it would mean disengaging from the other attacker?
Tywyll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 10:26 AM   #2
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Diengaging by Forcing Retreat

I would say no. You can decline to follow up and thereby disengage from the retreated figure, but disengaging from the non-retreated foe would basically give you a free action, which I don't imagine was the intent.
larsdangly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 10:43 AM   #3
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Diengaging by Forcing Retreat

Good question.

RAW yes.

I would also tend to say yes, but mainly because I am not a fan of engagement keeping figures totally stuck to each other, and it's only one hex of movement. Being able to retreat someone means whoever else you'd become disengaged from failed to hurt you last turn, and also failed to stop you ignoring them and hurting someone else that turn (so it doesn't seem to me like their engagement of you was all that compelling that turn). I like that an alternative to disengaging by doing nothing but stepping back, is to hurt someone and not get hurt.

People who really like the stuck effect of engagement might disagree (as argued above).

Last edited by Skarg; 06-14-2019 at 10:47 AM.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 10:59 AM   #4
kjamma4
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicagoland Area, Illinois
Default Re: Diengaging by Forcing Retreat

Which brings up a question in my mind - what happens if you take damage from two figures and do none to them?

Who gets to retreat you?
kjamma4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 11:29 AM   #5
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Diengaging by Forcing Retreat

The one with the highest adjDX gets to retreat you. Retreats go in order of adjDX.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 12:30 PM   #6
Chris Rice
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: London Uk, but originally from Scotland
Default Re: Diengaging by Forcing Retreat

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjamma4 View Post
Which brings up a question in my mind - what happens if you take damage from two figures and do none to them?

Who gets to retreat you?
The one who hits you first, which may stop the second one being able to hit you at all.

"Nothing in Melee happens simultaneously (Melee p5)."

Last edited by Chris Rice; 06-14-2019 at 01:41 PM.
Chris Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 12:31 PM   #7
Chris Rice
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: London Uk, but originally from Scotland
Default Re: Diengaging by Forcing Retreat

Quote:
Originally Posted by larsdangly View Post
I would say no. You can decline to follow up and thereby disengage from the retreated figure, but disengaging from the non-retreated foe would basically give you a free action, which I don't imagine was the intent.
That's my interpretation exactly.
Chris Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 01:47 PM   #8
kjamma4
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicagoland Area, Illinois
Default Re: Diengaging by Forcing Retreat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Rice View Post
The one who hits you first, which may stop the second one being able to hit you at all.
Doesnít the Forced Retreat phase happen after all characters attack?

How would you be able to decide if you are eligible to force a retreat (by taking no hits yourself) until all attacks have taken place?

Iím not following the sequence here...
kjamma4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 02:02 PM   #9
Chris Rice
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: London Uk, but originally from Scotland
Default Re: Diengaging by Forcing Retreat

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjamma4 View Post
Doesnít the Forced Retreat phase happen after all characters attack?

How would you be able to decide if you are eligible to force a retreat (by taking no hits yourself) until all attacks have taken place?

Iím not following the sequence here...

That's a good point, which I'd entirely forgotten about...
Chris Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 02:07 PM   #10
kjamma4
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicagoland Area, Illinois
Default Re: Diengaging by Forcing Retreat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Rice View Post
That's a good point, which I'd entirely forgotten about...
Whew!

I had a good chuckle about a low DX guy getting pinballed around eight times taking one hit each time by a gang of high DX enemies until he finally was dropped!!!

Thanks.
kjamma4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.