Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2018, 07:44 PM   #11
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomc View Post
I'd consider it part of the 5 seconds worth of attacks she gets that turn, and just double it.
Is the target's armor counted twice or once?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 08:03 PM   #12
Tenex
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
So the PC RPs are going to need to roll how many dice vs IQ to find a Dragon Fu teacher in a city of 10k people and 20 RPs?
Sounds like a quest to find the wizened old reptile man grandmaster.
Tenex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 08:49 PM   #13
Helborn
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
Is the target's armor counted twice or once?
Obviously if it is two attacks then the armor counts for each attack, but if it is only an enhanced attack then it only counts once.

(ITL 108: This is a subtraction from each successful attack against the protected figure. If a figure wearing chainmail is hit by two attacks during the same turn, one doing 5 hits damage and the other 3, he would actually take only 2 hits damage from the first attack and none at all from the second. The chainmail stops the other hits.)
__________________
Helborn
Helborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 09:23 PM   #14
platimus
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: behind you
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Are there damages listed anywhere for RPs bite and claw attacks? I can't seem to find any. I'm forced to conclude we are supposed to use "bare-hands" damage for RP in HTH (bare-hands+1) when he is biting or clawing or otherwise unarmed. If he wields a dagger in HTH it would bare-hands+3. All of these damages would be doubled after rolling them according to RAW. If the RP has UC/Brawling talents, I would apply their "punch" effects to the attack and rolled damage and then double the damage.

Short answer:
Quote:
Originally Posted by larsdangly View Post
Good question; I would say after.
__________________
Miranda Warning: Anything you say can and will be used against you in a forum of rules-lawyers.

Last edited by platimus; 11-02-2018 at 09:47 PM.
platimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2018, 05:42 AM   #15
tomc
 
tomc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
Is the target's armor counted twice or once?
I count it once.

This is touches on the larger issue of where does the abstraction override the simulation? It's not clear to me if an "attack" is one swing of the sword every 5 seconds, or as many swings as you take in 5 seconds. When you roll a 3 for triple damage does it mean one really good hit, or 3 medium ones?

If it's really relevant I'd flip a coin, but like most things, it's up to the GM.

TFT as written doesn't have that level of detail. I see that as a strength. If it's a weakness for you, at least you've got a good start on back filling the detail you want.
__________________
OgreMap2

Freedom of Speech is not Freedom of Podium
tomc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2018, 07:57 PM   #16
bill_seney
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

ITL page 79 says a reptile man "does double the HTH damage that a human of equivalent ST would".

You could argue either way:

1) Double ST damage then add bonus;
2) Double the HTH damage of a human of equivalent ST with the same level of brawling or UC.

I thing the final answer will depend on a ruling from SJ Games.
bill_seney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 09:44 AM   #17
zot
 
Join Date: May 2018
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Quote:
Originally Posted by bill_seney View Post
ITL page 79 says a reptile man "does double the HTH damage that a human of equivalent ST would".

You could argue either way:

1) Double ST damage then add bonus;
2) Double the HTH damage of a human of equivalent ST with the same level of brawling or UC.

I thing the final answer will depend on a ruling from SJ Games.
Exactly my point.
zot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 11:04 AM   #18
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

I stand by my house rule that they get a second jaw attack on the same target at full DX. Then if they have two HTH attacks from UC they simply get a third.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 01:01 PM   #19
zot
 
Join Date: May 2018
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
I stand by my house rule that they get a second jaw attack on the same target at full DX. Then if they have two HTH attacks from UC they simply get a third.
Of course everyone is welcome to house rule whatever they want to, that's "rule zero".

"Double damage" does not mean "two attacks", though, it means you multiply the damage by two. For instance, double damage from a dagger thrown to the head (ITL p120) doesn't mean it hits the head twice, it means you multiply the damage by two.
zot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 01:24 PM   #20
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Does a Reptile Man double their HTH damage before or after their UC/Brawling bonu

Then apply all of your modifiers and double the result.

Byter ST 13 DX 11 IQ 8 MA 12
4 Bolas, Dirty Fighting Claw(1d+3), in HTH this is 1d+4 then doubled
Brawling (1), Running (2), Humanish(1), Bonus mundane talent Butcher of humans, bonus racial talent Swimming, Thrown weapons(2), Bola(1), Quick-Draw Bola(1)

Throws a Bola at legs, using last chance missile weapon if needed, then enters HTH.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.