Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > Dungeon Fantasy Roleplaying Game

Old 11-08-2018, 07:45 AM   #1
Bruno

Default Questions about random treasure generation

GURPS Dungeon Fantasy has a book dedicated to randomly generating detailed treasures.[1] I loves me some detailed treasure, and I loves me some random tables, but Dungeon Fantasy 8: Treasure Tables is entangled with a lot of GURPS stuff, including the entire Armor section being incompatible with DFRPG, and various items and enchantments being not-entirely-DFRPG.

As a human using the DF8 tables, the differences are pretty minor and I can integrate them into my game casually, but I'm a programmer, not a human :) I'm writing a webapp to randomly generate DFRPG specific treasures and hordes.

Preface: Name, merchant value, weight, and page references will be provided for each item. The names of special qualities will be listed as well as their CF value or $ cost (e.g. enchantments). The unenchanted cost and weight will be listed separately from the enchanted cost, for use as a Power Item or if the object suffers a magical accident. No other game-rules will be provided (that's what page references are for) - not only would it be infringing on SJG, I'd go mad trying to scrape that much text.

I have some questions about what people feel should be in a DFRPG-dedicated treasure generator.
  • Should the weapons/armor/enchantments only include items from DFRPG-specific books? (my inclination is yes)
  • Should they be restricted to just the DFRPG boxed set? (my inclination is no, but everything will have a page reference so you know where to find it)
  • Should mundane items with no special rules (from GURPS) be included?
  • Should mundane items with no special rules (from real life or made up, not GURPS) be included?