Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2012, 08:54 PM   #1
Zachary1234
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Munchkin Explorer Class Card

Does Resourcefulness on Explorer class have the ability to retract one's card from table other than:

-non curse targeted items,
-one shot special cards and
-non-curse targeted {Accents, Classes, Bilingual, Super Munchkin}?

If one's own cursed cards cannot be taken to hand by resourcefulness, and Monsters on table for combat never count as one's own cards,
can someone suggest some good uses for Resourefulness here please? :)
Zachary1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 09:09 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Munchkin Explorer Class Card

Here's some usages:
  • Taking a Big Item off the table so you can carry a different one.
  • Taking a Ship off the table so you can sail in a different one.
  • Taking an Accent off the table in combat with a monster with bonuses against that Accent, so the bonus doesn't count and you can replay the Accent after the combat is over.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 12:21 AM   #3
Zachary1234
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Re: Munchkin Explorer Class Card

Quote:
Taking a Ship off the table so you can sail in a different one.
Ships, although typically given the Big attribute, are not counted as big items. That means that you can use 1 such ship to start, and can carry any number of them.

This means that you can switch a ship to carry, in order to sail a different one,and don't need to take it off table. Which leaves uses for Resourcefulness:

-Taking a Big Item off the table so you can carry a different one.
-Taking an Accent off the table in combat with a monster with bonuses against that Accent, so the bonus doesn't count and you can replay the Accent after the combat is over.
-Also can take Bilingual and Super Munchkin back.

Are these the only 3 real uses?
Zachary1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 12:25 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Explorer Class Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachary1234 View Post
Ships, although typically given the Big attribute, are not counted as big items. That means that you can use 1 such ship to start, and can carry any number of them.
Please go reread the Ship rules. You are incorrect.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 12:39 AM   #5
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Munchkin Explorer Class Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachary1234 View Post
Ships, although typically given the Big attribute, are not counted as big items. That means that you can use 1 such ship to start, and can carry any number of them.

This means that you can switch a ship to carry, in order to sail a different one,and don't need to take it off table.
No, you can't do that. While they don't count against the Big Item limit, they do count against the Ship limit. You can usually only have one ship in play at any one time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Booty Rules
Normally, no player can have more than one Ship. Cheat! cards and special powers can allow extra ships.
Edit: And Andrew beat me to that one by a mile...

Quote:
Which leaves uses for Resourcefulness:

-Taking a Big Item off the table so you can carry a different one.
-Taking an Accent off the table in combat with a monster with bonuses against that Accent, so the bonus doesn't count and you can replay the Accent after the combat is over.
-Also can take Bilingual and Super Munchkin back.

Are these the only 3 real uses?
So you still have Ship switching as well as a bunch of other potential usages. You could keep switching between two different Accents; if you have Super Munchkin in play, you can temporarily retrieve the other class you are apart from Explorer to protect you from disadvantages of both that class and the Explorer class (as you now only use the single-class effect of Super Munchkin); you can retrieve a ship with all its enhancers (if they say they go with the item) and then reconfigure them on a new ship.

This list still isn't exhaustive, and it would take a very long time to actually make an exhaustive list as there are plenty of card combinations that will generate new uses.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 12:47 AM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Explorer Class Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
you can retrieve a ship with all its enhancers (if they say they go with the item)
No, you can't. Resourcefulness allows you to pick up ONE card you have in play, irrespective of any rules on that card or surrounding that card type.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 01:27 AM   #7
Zachary1234
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Re: Munchkin Explorer Class Card

My Munchkin Booty latest rules state that an Item may
be turned sideways to become inactive. It also says that cards may be switched from being in use to being carried. However my rules sheet
does not exactly state if "being carried" and "being turned sideways and inactive" are mutually equivalent states.
Are they, or otherwise? :) ?

Quote:
Normally, no player can have more than one Ship.

..Ships are Items, and follow normal Item rules..

Ships carry themselves.

Does the last sentence mean

"That ships are never part of any other set of carried items ever",

or does it mean that

"if ships are in a temporary state of being carried, then they exist as seperate carried [Big] items"?
Zachary1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 01:30 AM   #8
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Munchkin Explorer Class Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
No, you can't. Resourcefulness allows you to pick up ONE card you have in play, irrespective of any rules on that card or surrounding that card type.
Thanks for the correction.

I forgot that once the ship enters your hand, it is no longer a ship (until you play it again) and thus the card text that says attachments go with the ship is meaningless as the ship no longer exists.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachary1234 View Post
My Munchkin Booty latest rules state that an Item may
be turned sideways to become inactive. It also says that cards may be switched from being in use to being carried. However my rules sheet
does not exactly state if "being carried" and "being turned sideways and inactive" are mutually equivalent states.
Are they, or otherwise? :) ?
Carried items are all the Items you have that aren't carrying themselves, whether they are in use or not. Turning an item sideways only affects whether you are using it or not. You are always carrying it.

I believe the reason ships are said to carry themselves is that there is a rule that you can only carry one Big item at a time. The Ship does not count against that rule.

Last edited by Clipper; 03-28-2012 at 01:43 AM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 02:43 AM   #9
Zachary1234
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Re: Munchkin Explorer Class Card

Quote:
Normally, no player can have more than one Ship.


Does this mean that the maximum number of ships active in use is normally 1 and that also, normally, any number of inactive ships turned sideways may be carried?

Or are inactive ships included in the total?
Zachary1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 03:15 AM   #10
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Munchkin Explorer Class Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachary1234 View Post
Does this mean that the maximum number of ships active in use is normally 1 and that also, normally, any number of inactive ships turned sideways may be carried?

Or are inactive ships included in the total?
Even if you decide not to use a ship, you still 'have' it. So it's one ship total, sideways or not.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.