Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Ogre and G.E.V.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2014, 10:26 AM   #41
offsides
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cheltenham, PA
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
So road controls travel into a hex along a road and bridge controls crossing of water. Crossing a bridge from a destroyed road hex is no different from entering along a road from a non-road hex, no?
Correct. The "bridge" part of a river bridge is essentially a red herring for movement purposes; it's the road that's important. Entering any hex along a road allows you to ignore the underlying terrain and spend only 1MP to enter the hex. River bridges allow crossing a water hex, stream bridges allow crossing a water hexside.
__________________
Joshua Megerman, SJGames MIB #5273 - Ogre AI Testing Division
offsides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 01:06 AM   #42
BlackHat
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talorien View Post
Thanks for all those who commented on the previous drafts.

These should be almost-final.

Shout out if you find typos or anything game-breaking - thanks!

So is there an updated version or final draft available?
__________________
I wear a Hat.
(Yes its Black)
BlackHat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 09:19 AM   #43
Jen
 
Jen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackHat View Post
So is there an updated version or final draft available?
We are working on it. I know, not the best answer, but the best one I can give at the moment. :/

Jen
__________________
Verbing weirds language- Calvin
Jen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2014, 11:01 AM   #44
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

The 6.02 Ogres ramming SHVY exception also applies to 8.05.2, correct?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2014, 12:01 PM   #45
KevinR
 
KevinR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
The 6.02 Ogres ramming SHVY exception also applies to 8.05.2, correct?
Hmm.

Overall, considering the remaining provisions of 8.05.2 and 8.05.3, I think that those sections mean the following and no more:
* Any unit which could legally ram a unit or building during regular movement may ram at the end of its first fire round, with normal effects. A result of D is treated as an X. An Ogre ramming an armor unit is undamaged.

Applying that logic to the SHVY provisions of 6.02, it seems like the result of an Ogre ramming a SHVY in overrun would be something like:
* SHVY (as armor) suffers upgraded 1-1 attack -- X on 3-6, NE on 1-2. No tread damage to Ogre.
* SHVY (as Ogre) suffers upgraded 1-1 attack plus loses some dice of treads per Size Table. Ogre loses one die of treads.

I don't like the "Ogre is undamaged" provision -- that seems out of place.
KevinR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2014, 12:52 PM   #46
dwalend
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
The 6.02 Ogres ramming SHVY exception also applies to 8.05.2, correct?
I'll disagree with Kevin on this one. A defending SHVY gets a chance to use its guns, same as any other unit, before it gets squashed.

8.05.2 "If the target was anything but another Ogre, it is destroyed and the Ogre is undamaged. " SHVY has a lot of ogre characteristics, but isn't an ogre. (If it were, it wouldn't need so many special rules.)

8.05.2 replaces 6.02 for all units, including the superheavy. No reason to give that monster another gift.
dwalend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2014, 02:06 PM   #47
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

SHVY overruns non-disabled SHVY. Defender plinks off some other overruning units with gunfire, then rams the attacker.

By 8.05.3 this gets punted back to 6.07.1 The defending SHVY suffers a 1-1 attack, possibly disabling it, and the attacking SHVY is destroyed.

Right?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2014, 02:29 PM   #48
Mack_JB
 
Mack_JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

While there are numerous accounts (mainly from WW2 on the Eastern Front) of tank on tank ramming action; why so many rules and questions in Ogre?

If you ram anything your own size or larger, you are disabled for the full game or destroyed completely, as is your opponent. Ramming anything smaller than you should be seen as ramming guns and trucks, not armor. For all the documented rams in history, there are very few where the ramming vehicle gets away clean.

Needless convolutions that cannot be supported by historical research.
__________________
Jeff
Mack_JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2014, 02:40 PM   #49
Mack_JB
 
Mack_JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

To further clarify (based on the artwork seen in Ogre to date):

Ogres ram because of their huge size and very impressive ground clearance, they are literally driving up on top of, and over opposing armor, crushing it, and lose treads for doing so -- they should lose more than the rules allow, but that's the game structure (think of every movie you can remember where a tank runs over a car in the street, or that incident in San Diego a few decades ago where a tank was stolen and careened wildly through the streets).

Everything else in Ogre has little to almost no ground clearance, and is ramming at the same level -- mainly direct impact damage (think car crashes here). Intentional tank to tank ramming to do damage will leave no one unscathed, and neither side wins, it's a desperation move.
__________________
Jeff
Mack_JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2014, 03:37 PM   #50
dwalend
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
SHVY overruns non-disabled SHVY. Defender plinks off some other overruning units with gunfire, then rams the attacker.

By 8.05.3 this gets punted back to 6.07.1 The defending SHVY suffers a 1-1 attack, possibly disabling it, and the attacking SHVY is destroyed.

Right?
That's my reading of it. SHVYs are dangerous.

Should Ds be Xs, as Kevin suggests? That'd be a big difference between section 6 and section 8 rules.
dwalend is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.