Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 04-25-2006, 01:25 AM   #1
Luther
Grim Reaper

Default Explosives: Lethality of 1 pount of TNT

Have you any reference about the lethality radius of 1 pound of TNT?

One pound of TNT does 6dx2 in GURPS, which averages 42 HPs in the center hex, 14 HPs at one meter range, 4 HPs at 2 meters, and so on. The concussion damage from such explosive have a lethality radius of one yard. This seems low to me, but I'm no expert.

I'm looking for some real world figure to use as benchmark. It doesn't need to be 1 pound, or 1 kilogram, or even TNT. I just need some accurate data about the killing and or incapacitating power of explosives (just concussion damage).

This page (and the site) has some useful information. However I would avoid specific weapons, because they are not yet fully statted in 4e and it would be better to benchmark the raw explosives.

God of the Cult of Stat Normalization

Last edited by Luther; 04-25-2006 at 03:34 AM.
Luther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 02:44 AM   #2
zorg
Experimental Subject

Default Re: Explosives: Lethality of 1 pount of TNT

Remember to add in fragmentation and shrapnel damage. Most explosives have some kind of packaging, and exploding cars should give a ready supply of flying metal chunks with sharp edges.
Old 04-25-2006, 02:56 AM   #3
Luther
Grim Reaper

Quote:
Originally Posted by zorg
Remember to add in fragmentation and shrapnel damage.
Please no, this thread is only about concussion damage. Just the damage from the blast. That's why I prefer to benchmark raw explosives, rather than weapons, less confusion.

Old 04-25-2006, 03:15 AM   #4
kure

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luther
Have you any reference about the lethality radius of 1 pound of TNT?